Review: Never Never by Colleen Hoover and Tarryn Fisher

Title: Never Never
Author: Colleen Hoover and Tarryn Fisher
Genre: YA Mystery/Suspense with a little Romance
Type: Book 1 of the series
POV: First Person – Dual
Rating:

Never stop. Never forget.

When I first found out about this book I was very excited. I love all of Tarryn Fisher’s books so naturally I would read this one. However, I’ve never read Colleen Hoover’s before (when I mentioned that in one group, I was deemed blasphemous haha!) so I thought this is the perfect way to go into her work. After finishing this book, I’m finding it very hard to rate and review it.

Never Never revolved around the lives of Charlie and Silas. They were two high school seniors whose lives suddenly turned upside down. One day in between school period, they completely have forgotten who they were. Individually, they had no recollection of their pasts and when they found each other, they started to piece together whatever clues they came across with.

The book started well for me. It was very intriguing because the authors kept you wondering what exactly was happening to the characters. However, by the 50% mark, I lost patience and by the 100% mark…

… I felt left in the limbo.

Yes, it’s not a stand and yes, it had a major cliffhanger. But no, that’s not my problem with this book. I don’t have a problem with cliffhanger IF I was adequately satisfied beforehand. Unfortunately I wasn’t.

 

Never Never

 

See the quote from the graphic ^. That’s how I felt from start to finish. I’ve read other books that kept me guessing from start to finish and even with a cliffhanger, those book answered some questions before leaving us hanging and wanting more. Never Never, hardly answered any and left me still bumbling for the light switch. Some people classified this book as a mind-fuck. I don’t know about that yet because as I said before, there were no answers. So far my mind wasn’t fucked/blown haha!

What I love about this book is the characters. I love how they discovered what kind of person they were in “past life” and I love seeing how they cope with their problems.

I set the note aside, feeling like I’m snooping on someone else’s life, and close the book. This belonged to Charlie. I’m not her.

I love Charlie especially when we got a glimpse of what kind of a person she was before. It’s typical Tarryn Fisher’s character and I love that.

“Lucky for you, I’m not Monopoly Silas anymore. I’m Tetris Silas. All my pieces and parts are going to fit into all of your pieces and parts.”

I adore Silas. I love how he’s pretty much the opposite of Charlie and how much he wanted to follow the path of their past.

Overall this book has a potential of being great, but for me it looked like it took an unnecessary detour. It could still be potentially good so even though this one left me frustrated, I need to know how it ends.

 

This review is also available on Goodreads.

2 comments

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.