ARC Review: Binary Code by Rebecca Sherwin & D.H. Sidebottom

Title: Binary Code
Authors: D.H. Sidebottom & Rebecca Sherwin
Genre: Dark Erotic Thriller
Type: Standalone
POV: First Person – Dual
Expected Publication: August 31, 2016

 

Binary: Relating to, composed of, or involving two things.
Code: A system of words, letters, figures or symbols used to represent others, especially for the purposes of secrecy.

Everything comes in twos. His and hers. Mine and yours. Love and hate. Life and death. The world is made up of pairs.
So what happens when the line is blurred, when the rules we use to define our lives become…skewed?
What happens when the rules are broken? His and hers becomes his, hers and…theirs. Mine and yours becomes mine, yours and ours. Love and hate become love, hate and conflict. Life and death become a battle, an infinite number of risks swinging on a pendulum.

Carter cracked my code. He dug deep into the genetics of who I was and he rewrote every moment of my life. He forced his way in, reshaping every thought in my head, manipulating every instinct that kept me alive.
Yet, in doing so he altered the structure of his own code and broke every single rule he lived by. He was the encryption I couldn’t decipher, and I was the mystery that finally forced him to reveal exactly who he was.

This book contains adult themes, including M/F/M
 

Pre-order at:

Amazon US |  UK |  CA  |  AU

 

ARC provided in exchange for an honest review.

On paper, Harley Davids was an art loving gallery owner. But behind the facade, she was a computer expert working in a small team catering to their clients’ every whim. She also had a personal quest in facing her dark past and she would need any help she could get.

Carter was an elusive owner of a popular nightclub. He had his own personal mission to complete, but as Harley caught his sight, he had the urge to crack her shell without realizing by doing that, he was exposing his own core.

I have read several of DH Sidebottom’s books, but this is my first look at Rebecca Sherwin’s. I am glad to have found another author in my favorite genre.

She’d cracked my code; whatever the fuck she’d done to me, she’d won.

Carter was a very interesting character. He exuded a certain aura that made me drawn to him. He was commanding, yet showed a softer side when needed.

What else was there? What else could I do to fix this festering hole in my soul that just kept widening and widening with every day I made it through?

Harley had been hurt in the past and she was still nursing the scar. She might seem strong but inside she was very fragile.

The best thing about the book is the revelation gave me a whiplash. It was brilliantly done and I didn’t see it coming. The sexy times were also smoking hot especially when it came to angry, hate fucking lol!

I like the how techy thriller/suspense elements in the story paired with the human elements in term of the working relationship between the characters.

“I’m breaking all my rules for you, and I don’t regret a single deviation.”

But when it came to the romance part, it felt off. I wasn’t convinced of it since it was not properly flashed out before the declaration was made. I would have rather it not be a factor in the story or at least downplay the declaration a little for a better balance.

Binary Code is a story of a couple shoved into a conflicting situation and how they make it work. It’s a thrilling ride into the world of high tech and high power.

Final Verdict:

This review is also available on Goodreads.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.