ARC Review: Disclaim by Pam Godwin

Title: Disclaim
Author: Pam Godwin
Genre: Dark Erotic Romance
Type: Standalone Book 3 of Deliver series
POV: Third Person
Expected Publication: August 31, 2016

 

Camila was seventeen when Van Quiso kidnapped her. Ten years after her escape, the shackles refuse to release her. Not while there are still slave traders preying on her city.
She will stop at nothing to end them.
Even if that means becoming a slave again.

Returning to chains is her worst fear—and only option. They won’t know who she is or what she intends to do. She’s prepared for every complication.
Except him.
The one who decimated her sixteen-year-old heart.

Matias is charming, gorgeous, and dangerously seductive. He’s also untrustworthy and enshrouded in secrets. After years of no contact, he finds her—on her knees, wrists bound, in the clutches of her enemy.
Will he sabotage her mission by needlessly saving her?
Or will he keep her in chains and never let her go?

Warning: Graphic sex and violence. Age 18+ only
It is recommended to read after Deliver & Vanquish, but it can be read as a stand-alone.

 

ARC provided by the author in exchange for an honest review.

Matias Guerra had been protective of his best friend Camila since they were kids. Growing up together, innocent friendship quickly blossomed into something more. But just as things progressed, he left her behind.

Camila Dias became a victim of sex slavery at the age of seventeen for a year before escaping. Ten years on, she became an advocate to the cause. Her passion to save the victims ran deep that she was willing to risk her own freedom to bring down a trafficking ring. But she underestimated her readiness when she was brought face to face with a past that still haunted her.

Deliver series is one of my favorite not only because if my favorite hero Van Quiso but also the dark theme and the kinky fuckery. I’m glad the third book lived up to its predecessors.

And while Matias’ intentions hovered somewhere between terrifying and soulless, the way he looked at her made her feel treasured. Protected.

Matias was definitely one sexy hero. He was commanding without being cruel. I love his protective nature and even his secrecy especially after learning his reasons.

I love how dedicated and fearless Camila was in standing against what she believed. She faced her fear head on, and with attitude to boot. I also like seeing how she was struggling with her own nature, trying to deny a deep seated desire.

“Dominance is when I kiss your brow and you obediently lower to the floor. Willingly. No hesitation.” His eyes flashed. “It’s when you kneel for me, give me the power to break you inside and out, and trust that I won’t. You will surrender your vulnerability without shame, because that’s what I want, and what I want, you crave.”

The story was exciting with a lot of revelations towards the end where everything came together. Even though I figured out the main secret quite early on, there were still things that surprised me.

“I didn’t want to be just anyone. I wanted to be your one, passions and pursuits aside. I wanted you to choose me for us.”

Disclaim is the story of two people brought back together in an unlikely situation and their fight in achieving their personal goals. This book is a good addition to this interesting dark, sexy series.

Note 1:
As much as I find Matias to be sexy, Van will always be my man because he is unique and very special to me.

Note 2:
I sew hope my new favorite character will get to tell his own story :p

Note 3:
I’m still hoping for story of Van and Liv’s beginning because deep down inside I still want them to be together. There’s just something depravingly special about their connection lol!

Final Verdict:

This review is also available on Goodreads.

 

Website   |   Goodreads   |   Facebook  |   Twitter  |  Amazon

New York Times and USA Today Bestselling author, Pam Godwin, lives in the Midwest with her husband, their two children, and a foulmouthed parrot. When she ran away, she traveled fourteen countries across five continents, attended three universities, and married the vocalist of her favorite rock band.

Java, tobacco, and dark romance novels are her favorite indulgences, and might be considered more unhealthy than her aversion to sleeping, eating meat, and dolls with blinking eyes.

Leave a Reply

