Review: A Love Letter to Whiskey by Kandi Steiner

Title: A Love Letter To Whiskey
Author: Kandi Steiner
Genre: Contemporary Romance
Type: Standalone
POV: First Person – Female
Rating:

Brecks (B) Kennedy was an addict. From the first taste she had, she was hooked on the exquisite taste of Jamie Shaw. She grasped on to it for a long time because the lingering taste was worth it – not counting the pain and heartbreaks that came with it.

I wasn’t sure what this book is about but I saw reviews mentioning angst, and that’s what pulled me in. I thought it’s about addiction and it is but not the kind I thought – which is better.

I knew what he wanted, what he needed in life — but I also knew I couldn’t be that for him. Not yet, at least.

B started as someone I like. But very quickly my feelings for her shifted. Her actions were frustrating and there were a lot of time I wanted to bitch slap her face haha!

“So if I can’t have you at your worst, and I can’t have you at your best, then when do I get you, B? When does the timing line up for you to stop fighting what we have between us and just let me in?”

My love for Jamie never wavered. He was charming and patient. He was not without fault but I forgave him for his situation. His confidence was attractive but his vulnerability was what melted my heart.

“Isn’t okay. We’re toxic, Jamie. All we do is hurt each other, hurt the ones who love us, hurt ourselves.”

As mentioned this book was full of angst. It’s ever present, constantly simmering and sometimes boiled over here and there. I had chest pain in the two days I read it but since I’m an emotional pain whore, it was a beautiful torture lol!

A Love Letter To Whisky is a journey of two people growing up and owning up to their heart’s desires. It would appeal to readers who like going through emotions.

Note:
I like that it ended without fanfare but I also wish it ended differently :p

 

This review is also available on Goodreads.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.