Review: Echoes of Scotland Street by Samantha Young

Title: Echoes of Scotland Street
Author: Samantha Young
Genre: Contemporary Romance
Type: Standalone book 5 of On Dublin Street series
POV: First Person – Female
Rating:

This is the 5th book of On Dublin Street series as the rest of the book in the series, it can be read as a standalone.

The story revolved around Cole, a tattoo artist and Shannon, a woman who was still haunted by her past. They first met when they were 15. Even though the encounter was brief, it left a mark on both of them. 9 years later fate brought them back together when she was accepted as a receptionist at INKarnate the tattoo shop where Cole was the manager.

Cole as a cocky, good looking tattoo artist embodied everything that Shannon vowed to stay away from. She had a bad string of relationships with bad boys that led to her detachment from her family. She was bitter and distrustful which led to several issues with Cole considering his past experience while growing up.

I’ve loved Cole since he was first introduced in the beginning of the series. He started as this shy but incredibly good kid. And throughout the series we got to see how he grew up into a confident and respectful man.

I found it disturbing that I’m lusting after Cole because I “watched” him grew up like he’s my little brother, but damn he’s hot!

The hot body, the tattoo, but with an honest to goodness good guy heart? I’m sold!

Shannon on the other hand, I’m not really a fan of hers. I’m never a fan of constant moping. I love angst but not when you keep whining about the same thing, the same way most of the book. That’s what Shannon did.

I love ever single person of the INKarnate crew. They all have their own personalities that balance the group. I even love the Santa biker Stu!

One of the things I love the most about the series is that (most of) the characters were Scottish. I can imagine how they spoke and I actually read the dialogues in my head with a Scottish accent. I especially can’t get over saying “wee fairy” in my head haha!

Note: In this book we got a glimpse of who Logan is. He’ll get his own book next and I’m looking forward to it. I’m really hoping he’s more rough around the edges because really, the whole series are full of too beautiful and too good/kind people.

 

This review is also available on Goodreads.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.