ARC Review: One Hundred Saints by Yolanda Olson

Title: One Hundred Saints
Author: Yolanda Olson
Genre: Horror
Type: Standalone
POV: First Person – Dual

 

He was from the wrong side of the bayou.
A place where voodoo was revered and fallen angels whispered.
I didn’t care.
I loved him from the first time we played together, and I love him still.
I haven’t seen him in so long.
I went back to New Orleans when I could.
I never stopped thinking about him.
My bayou boy with the heavy Cajun accent.
I just didn’t know that the happy little boy had turned into such a different man.
I didn’t know that he had been looking for me too.
I didn’t know a lot of things.
But finding out was much worse than staying in the dark.
⁣⁣

 

Amazon.

 

 


Emmie Thibideaux was finally home after years away from her family. The first thing on her agenda was to find her childhood best friend Grimm Valot. But the years had changed him into someone she didn’t recognize.

The story started quite sweet, but soon enough it descended into the rabbit hole. I liked getting into Grim’s head and experiencing his world, especially seeing how his friendship with Emmie affected his goals. I also enjoyed the culture and the setting of the story.

As a child he had been my best friend in the entire world, and as a man he had become a monster.

One Hundred Saint is a story of twisted aspirations. It would appeal to readers who enjoy a quick dark horror read.

Final Verdict:

This review is also available on Goodreads.

⁣⁣
⁣⁣

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.