Review: Distorted by Nyla K.

Title: Distorted
Author: Nyla K.
Genre: MM Dark Romance
Type: Standalone book 1 of Alabaster Penitentiary
POV: First Person – Dual

 

 

“Don’t get caught” was the motto Dascha (Dash) Reznikov lived by. But a botched bank robbery landed him in Alabaster Penitentiary where regular rules didn’t apply. And the hell he entered was only the beginning when he caught the attention of a dangerously elusive guard.

I loved Dash and was drawn to him, especially with all his troubles. It was interesting seeing him interact with others and how he coped with being incarcerated. Kemper was dark and mysterious, and his covert possessiveness made him alluring. There were plenty of non/dub cons that made the sexy scenes titillating.

This dude just burst into my life, uninvited, and now he thinks he can control me. Like I’m a toy for him to play with.

While I figured out part of the plot early on, I still enjoyed the overall story. All the other characters were engrossing, and I liked the ambiance as well. I liked the ending in general even though some aspects were too convenient. I also felt the author took a shortcut in wrapping up the story without fully providing answers.

Distorted is a story of survival and sexual reawakening. It would appeal to readers who enjoy dark MM romance in a prison setting.

Finale Verdict:

This review is also available on Goodreads.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.