Review: Desolate by Ker Dukey

Title: Desolate
Author: Ker Dukey
Genre: Dark Suspense
Type: Book 2 of 3 from Empathy series
POV: First Person – Multiple
Rating:

After eighteen years of institutionalization Ryan Braxton used what he knew best and wiggled his way out to freedom. A lot had changed since he last breathed fresh air but the urges were ever present and reawakened as he learned about Cereus, his latest obsession.

I was intrigued by book 1 ending and wonder how the story would go. I’m glad it took readers through some unexpected turns.

β€œI only ever feel a release from the empty darkness consuming me when I feed it by inflicting some form of hurt or humiliation on another.”

I like Ryan before, but I wasn’t on his team. I ended up changing my alliance by the end of this book lol! It was good to see how he coped with the changes and how he evolved.

Cereus was not someone I expected her to be. I was drawn to her by her situation and how she connected to Ryan. There were only bits if her side shown and I’m looking forward to see how it will be nurtured.

He molds and conforms to the person he’s with. He can be your best friend, your boyfriend or your brother, and you would never know the demon is sitting there staring at you and designing your demise, until it’s too late.

Desolate follows the journey of a psychopath and how it affected the people around him. It is an engaging companion to the previous book with a promising next chapter.

 

This review is also available on Goodreads.

Leave a Reply

