ARC Review: Pageant by Lilith Vincent

Title: Pageant
Author: Lilith Vincent
Genre: Dark Romance
Type: Book 1 of 2 from Pageant Duet
POV: First Person – Multiple
Expected Publication: May 11, 2022

 

 

I’ve been stolen. Paraded. Forced to vie for their crown.

Through a cruel twist of fate, the dangerous life I escaped has seized hold of me again. Three men have snatched my freedom and they’re playing a twisted game, and they’re the only winners.

My captors glitter like diamonds in the dark, each one more handsome and ruthless than the last. Konstantin, the scarred and heartless ringleader, and mastermind of my fate. Elyah, the demon from my past who once craved me and now covets my demise. Kirill, a bloodthirsty maniac with depraved needs who thrives on misery and mayhem.

Sixteen women are forced to compete in their twisted pageant, and one by one we’re eliminated until there’s only one jewel left. My captors’ desire burns as hard as their cruelty, but the true torment only begins when the pageant ends.

Heavy is the crown that glitters on the winner’s head.

Author’s note: Pageant is a standalone dark reverse harem romance with Russian mafia anti-heroes. This book contains captive themes, violence, and a Why Choose romance with ruthlessly possessive men. The story is dark, dirty, and delicious, so please read at your discretion.

 

 

Pre-order at Amazon.

 

 

ARC provided for an unbiased review.

Lilia Aranova’s life was never a walk in the park despite being born in wealth and status. Determined to guide her own fate, she took a chance in starting a new life. But the ghosts of her past came back and put her on a collision course with three ruthless criminals.

I love dark romance and I love it even more when the heroine can go toe to toe with the hero and not lose her wits (and panties) with one smirk. Lilia was determined, defiant, and stood out among the main characters.

How does she keep turning things around on us when she’s the one locked in a cage?

I’m still not fully decided on the men because the two of them still without much back story. I felt for Elyah, intrigued by Kirill, and Konstantin… well, I just have this strong urge to break him lol! One of my favorite scenes was of course with Kirill and his secrets. I’m hoping the men won’t turn out to be pussies by the end of this duet.

Pageant is a story of survival and revenge. It would appeal to readers who enjoy a dark romance with mafia-based reverse harem dynamics.

Final Verdict:

4.25 Stars

This review is also available on Goodreads.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.