ARC Review: Little Darlings by Melanie Golding

Title: Little Darlings
Author: Melanie Golding
Genre: Mystery/Thriller
Type: Standalone
POV: Third Person
Expected Publication: April 30, 2019

 

“Mother knows best” takes on a sinister new meaning in this unsettling thriller perfect for fans of Neil Gaiman and Grimms’ Fairy Tales.

Everyone says Lauren Tranter is exhausted, that she needs rest. And they’re right; with newborn twins, Morgan and Riley, she’s never been more tired in her life. But she knows what she saw: that night, in her hospital room, a woman tried to take her babies and replace them with her own…creatures. Yet when the police arrived, they saw no one. Everyone, from her doctor to her husband, thinks she’s imagining things.

A month passes. And one bright summer morning, the babies disappear from Lauren’s side in a park. But when they’re found, something is different about them. The infants look like Morgan and Riley―to everyone else. But to Lauren, something is off. As everyone around her celebrates their return, Lauren begins to scream, These are not my babies.

Determined to bring her true infant sons home, Lauren will risk the unthinkable. But if she’s wrong about what she saw…she’ll be making the biggest mistake of her life.

Compulsive, creepy, and inspired by some our darkest fairy tales, Little Darlings will have you checking―and rechecking―your own little ones. Just to be sure. Just to be safe.

 

Pre-order at Amazon.

 

ARC provided for an unbiased review.

Lauren Tranter was a new mother to twin boys. Unfortunately, her joy quickly turned to horror when the unthinkable happened. From that point on, she lived in constant fear, blurring the line between reality and the own mind. Her only hope was put on Detective Sergeant Jo Harper who might be willing to see things on a different perspective.

I’m not a mother but could absolutely relate to Lauren’s predicament. Her terror and distrust were palpable, and I understood her actions and motivations.

“I told you, that wasn’t them,” said Lauren, “whatever was in that stroller. They’ve been swapped. They’re evil, those things, they’re not my babies.”

I loved how atmospheric the book is. Plenty of times I felt the chill of the unknown and unexplained. I also appreciated the incorporation of dark fairytales/folklore, which added dimensions into the story.

Look at someone every day for long enough and you stop seeing what everyone else sees. You start to see what no one else sees, what is kept hidden from most people.

I enjoyed the premise of the book which tackled a real-life issue and how it was presented realistically with a twist. I usually liked open-ended conclusion, however, this book had too many unanswered questions that lessened the impact.

Little Darling is an eerie tale of a mother’s worst nightmare. It would appeal to readers who are interested in a psychological thriller with elements of supernatural.

Final Verdict:

This review is also available on Goodreads.

 

View this post on Instagram

.⁣⁣ 📖 #CurrentlyReading: Little Darlings by #MelanieGolding⁣ Coming April 30, 2019⁣ ⁣⁣⁣⁣ ⁣⁣⁣⁣ ★ Book Details ★⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣ Pre-order: https://amzn.to/2uW5PED⁣ Blurb:⁣⁣⁣⁣ “Mother knows best” takes on a sinister new meaning in this unsettling thriller perfect for fans of Neil Gaiman and Grimms’ Fairy Tales.⁣ ⁣ Everyone says Lauren Tranter is exhausted, that she needs rest. And they’re right; with newborn twins, Morgan and Riley, she’s never been more tired in her life. But she knows what she saw: that night, in her hospital room, a woman tried to take her babies and replace them with her own…creatures. Yet when the police arrived, they saw no one. Everyone, from her doctor to her husband, thinks she’s imagining things.⁣ ⁣ A month passes. And one bright summer morning, the babies disappear from Lauren’s side in a park. But when they’re found, something is different about them. The infants look like Morgan and Riley―to everyone else. But to Lauren, something is off. As everyone around her celebrates their return, Lauren begins to scream, These are not my babies.⁣ ⁣ Determined to bring her true infant sons home, Lauren will risk the unthinkable. But if she’s wrong about what she saw…she’ll be making the biggest mistake of her life.⁣ ⁣ Compulsive, creepy, and inspired by some our darkest fairy tales, Little Darlings will have you checking―and rechecking―your own little ones. Just to be sure. Just to be safe.⁣ ⁣ ⁣ ⁣ ⁣

A post shared by Warhawke's Vault Book Blog (@warhawkesvault) on

Advertisements

One comment

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.