Interview + Giveaway: Tiffany Reisz

Exclusive interview with Tiffany Reisz, an international bestselling author of the Original Sinners series for Mira Books and Mills & Boon, including the RT Book Reviews Best Erotic Romance 2012 winner The Siren and the LAMBDA Literary Award-winning The King. Her novel The Saint won the Romance Writers of America RITA® for best Erotic Romance in 2015.
Facebook | Twitter | Instagram | Goodreads

Her latest book The Red is out now. Read my review here.

 

 

Amazon | Amazon AU | Amazon UK | Amazon CA | B&N

iBooks | iBooks AU | iBooks UK iBooks CA | Kobo

 

Do you write books that you want to read, or what your fans want to read? Have you ever had to compromise your contents to make it more mainstream?

Both! I’ve never written a book solely for me or solely for my readers. I assume if I think it’s a good idea for a book, someone else will, too. I’ve never been forced by an editor to tone down a book or anything but for some books, I’ve done so willingly.

The Night Mark, for example, is very romantic/mainstream so it has quite a bit less sex than say, an Original Sinners novel. But that’s because The Night Mark’s plot doesn’t call for a lot of sex scenes whereas The Red or an Original Sinners book does.

 

If you could have a character from another author’s book make a cameo in yours, who would it be (character name, book title, author) and why? Bonus point if you tell what kind of scene it would be haha!

Since childhood I’ve had a crush on Prince Caspian from C.S. Lewis’s Chronicles of Narnia and the crush was only exacerbated when the incredibly handsome Ben Barnes played him in the movies. I’d love to write a very adult Prince Caspian story. Nora falls asleep reading The Voyage of the Dawn Treader and ends up dreaming a very naughty dream about the Prince…I could do it.

 

What is the most rewarding and the most taxing thing as an author?

Connecting with readers at signings and hearing their stories and learning how much your books meant to them is the best. It’s definitely the most reward. The daily grind of social media and keeping up with marketing is the most taxing. I just want to write books so all the non-book writing stuff about being an author is draining. Necessary but draining.

 

If you can’t be an author what is your second choice dream job?

I’d love to own my own little bookstore in a coastal community. Whatever I do, I have to be surrounded by books.

 

Is there any genre you haven’t written but plan to do in the future? Any tidbits to share?

I have a kids book I’d love to write. I’m trying to talk Andrew (my husband, author Andrew Shaffer) into writing it with me. Maybe we’ll get around to it one of these days. I love middle grade books because they’re so whimsical and funny.

 

Click image for giveaway

*** Open to Malaysian residents only ***

Leave a Reply

