Review: Dare by James Crow

Title: Dare
Author: James Crow
Genre: Dark Erotica
Type: Standalone
POV: First Person – Female
Rating:

Danielle Walker would not back out from a dare. On a night of fun with her friends, a simple dare let to an adventure she would never forget where lines were blurred and depravity was the main attraction.

I was intrigued when I first discovered this book. I was excited by the prospect of it being dark and fucked up. Well, I can say this book is definitely not for everyone.

I told him it was too late to save a crazy bitch like me, and that he should just get me fucked.

This book was all over the place when it comes to the timeline. The narrator went back and forth with a blink of an eye. This might be a problem for some readers. But for someone with a reading ADD tendency like me, I actually quite like it because it forced me to pay close attention to it.

He went in so hard and dry he’d tore me. It hurt bad. And that pain went straight to my temples. I knew I was going to pass out, but not before I’d moaned for more. Not before I’d bit a hole in my lip and hissed like a whore.

Throughout the book I kept thinking, what’s the motive of all the happenings? There were a lot of debaucheries with memorable scenes (that would traumatize those with delicate sensibilities lol!), but in the end I just didn’t get it. It was like listening to a joke without the punch line.

I picked up a hayfork and brandished the handle at him. ‘Maybe you’d like this up your arse,’ I told him.

It could have been something that blows my mind, unfortunately it didn’t even poked my brain. I wasn’t surprised by the revelation at all, but that’s not a big issue. The problem is the story didn’t have an anchor, which made the motive nonexistent, which in turn made the book banking on nothing more than a shock factor.

‘Are you really doing this?’ I asked.
‘If you dare.’

I wanted to be aroused and repulsed by this book. In that aspect, the author succeeded. I really did enjoyed the depravities lol! It’s just unfortunate that the overall execution didn’t work for me.

Dare is a story of succumbing to one’s desires. It would appeal to readers who are not afraid to push their personal boundaries.

Note: I love carrots, but I don’t know if I can eat them anymore. I solely blame this book if I’m lacking beta carotene in my diet from now on haha!

 

This review is also available on Goodreads.

Leave a Reply

