Review: Devastate by Marley Valentine

Title: Devastate
Author: Marley Valentine
Genre: Contemporary Romance
Type: Standalone
POV: First Person – Dual
Rating:

Evie Wright thought family life would take her happiness to the next level. Instead, it became the very thing that crumbled her apart. Left with a broken soul, she was content with just surviving instead of living. Even when Lior Spencer came into her life, she was oblivious of his good intention, but he was determined to make sure she saw the light.

The title and the blurb were calling my name. It definitely lured me to my need of emotional pain.

They say good things come to those who wait, and something tells me the wait for Evie will be worth it.

I have to say, I had respect for Lior. It’s hard to see how anyone would be willing to purposely entangle with someone carrying heavy baggage. He was very patient and understanding, but I’m glad he was hard when the situation needed it.

I’m well aware I lead a sad existence, but it’s the only way I know how to be present.

Evie was a mess. While I could imagine her devastation, I felt like her progress was painfully slow. If it wasn’t for the people around her, she’d probably wouldn’t put any effort in getting out of the rabbit hole. For this kind of story, I wanted to see the character’s inner strength but I couldn’t identify it with her.

“I want to touch, hold you, and worship you. Is something wrong with that?”

The book started with a high note – well, on my scale of emotional masochism lol! The prologue was heartbreaking and I had a high hope for it to keep the momentum, but it plateau soon after. It’s a short book but it still felt dragged on. It took too long for something to change and when it happened, it was too much, too sudden. And I was also not convinced with her living situation.

It’s hard to explain what it is that has me so hung up on her, but the two times I’ve seen her has ignited the beginning of an addiction I don’t want to give up.

Devastate is a story of a woman’s journey in re-awakening her soul with the support of those who love her. It would appeal to readers looking for a story of emotional healing.

 

This review is also available on Goodreads.
* Copy won from author Celia Aaron giveaway *

Leave a Reply

