ARC Review: Eight by E.S. Carter

Title: Eight
Author: E.S. Carter
Genre: Contemporary Romance
Type: Standalone Book 6 from Love by Numbers series
POV: First Person – Dual
Expected Publication: Jun 13, 2017

 

I’m sorry for your loss.
Why do people say that?
When someone you love is taken from you, when a part of you dies along with them, you haven’t lost them like you would your car keys or mobile phone. They aren’t stuck down the side of the sofa or left in the ignition of your car for you to find later. You haven’t absentmindedly put them somewhere and forgotten. You will never lose them because they live in you.
The soul crushing hurt that burns your lungs with every breath you take comes from knowing where they are and not being with them.
The ugly and real definition of grief is being left behind.
I’m sorry they left you.
I’m sorry you are alone.
I’m sorry it hurts to breathe.
Loss; it doesn’t even compare.
She was my first love.
She is my last love.
I am an empty husk who pretends to be filled with enough love for those of us she left behind.
Our little girl and newborn son need me.
I am both mother and father now.
I am hollow and empty.
I am a shell.
So why does the girl with the face of an angel and eyes that mirror my emptiness, look at me like I’m her everything?

*Book #6 in the ‘Love by Numbers’ series. Can be read as a standalone.*

 

Pre-order at:

Amazon

 

ARC provided in exchange for an honest review.

Josh Fox-Williams met the love of his life when he was young. For a while, they were a happy family until he lost her and left him with two very young children. Grieving from his lost, he didn’t want anyone else in his life until he met a woman who could see him through his soul.

Halle Richards knew what it’s like to feel lost. Having started a new life, she was just focusing on surviving instead of truly living. Meeting a man with a baggage was not part of her plan, but he slowly infiltrated her life. And they must learn to move on before any possibility of a future.

I have a thing with seeing characters suffer. I love seeing how they cope and rise up from their predicament. From the previous book, I knew how much Josh was suffering, so I was looking forward to his story.

I’m not the Josh from before, and I won’t ever be him again because I was one-half of a whole. Now I’m one-half of nothing.

I was drawn to Josh before he even had his own book and I’m glad I ended up loving him now. He was lost when his wife died and went through the stages of grief in his own way. There were time when his actions/words were downright cruel, but I understand where he came from.

She’s not trying too hard to please anyone and fuck if that isn’t incredibly sexy.

Halle might look like a woman living a normal life, but she had her own challenges in life. I like that while she was nice and compassionate, she had spunk and won’t let people walk all over her.

This book was a slow burn and considering his situation, it’s something I appreciate. I like that he took time to find himself again and I like that their relationship wasn’t forced.

I have a sudden pang of jealously towards his dead wife. What must it feel like to be loved like that?

However, this book was more of his story than their story. Halle was more like a secondary character to me because I didn’t know her enough. I felt her revelation at the end was a little too late and not fully elaborated. I’d like to feel more for her.

We’re a car crash waiting to happen, and I’m fervently anticipating the whiplash and the bruises from our imminent and unstoppable impact.

Eight is a story of finding peace and moving on. It would appeal to readers looking for realistically relatable stories.

Note 1:
I love Isaac and he was amazing in this book. He’s still my favorite from what I’ve read in this series so far.

Note 2:
Ivy totally stole the show. And I also love Arty, and broccoli lol!

Final Verdict:

This review is also available on Goodreads.

 

Website   |   Goodreads   |   Facebook  |   Twitter |  Instagram

ES Carter lives in Cardiff, South Wales. The home of castles, dragons and folklore.
Her family joke that she was born with a book in her hand, and the urge to write stories soon followed.

At eleven, she won her school’s literary prize. At ages fourteen to sixteen – her poetry phase after falling in love with Dylan Thomas and e.e. cummings – she had a few poems published, but life, love and family overtook her dreams, and she was in her thirties when she began the scary journey of self-publishing.

Her debut and internationally best-selling series, ‘Love by Numbers’, are a set of interconnected stand alone romances, all with varying themes of love. From second-chance to romantic comedy and M/M romance. These stories do not need to be read in order, in fact, she is often guilty of advising readers to start at the last book and work their way back through.

Contemporary romance is not the only genre she writes, her second series, ‘The Red Order’, is as dark and twisted as you can get, but there is beauty there too if you can open your eyes and look.
With many more stories bursting to be set free, she hopes you stay along for the ride.
She loves to connect with readers, so please feel free to friend/follow her on Facebook, IG and Twitter or join her reader’s group, E’s Elite ❤

Leave a Reply

