Review: Lover Unleashed by J.R. Ward

Title: Lover Unleashed
Author: J.R. Ward
Genre: Paranormal Romance/Urban Fantasy
Type: Book 9 of Black Dagger Brotherhood series
POV: Third Person
Rating:

For hundreds of years Payne was confined to the Other Side. Desperate to be free, she took an extreme measure that landed her in human world but in critical condition.

Dr. Manny Manello was a successful and established surgeon. He had everything he could possibly wanted, but still reeling from his loss of the woman who captured his heart. When an unexpected encounter thrown him into the unknown, he must decide what’s best for his life.

I rarely do back to back series reading. But what happened in last book got me intrigued, I just had to continue.

The truth was, he loved her. Completely and forever. But that was the curse of all this for them both, he suspected.

While I felt sorry for Manny in past books, I never really cared about him. I’m glad I actually ended up liking him in this book. I like seeing through his eyes the confusion and the wonder of vampires and the Brotherhood life.

She was a female who didn’t fit in anywhere, a warrior stuck within the tepid skin of a Chosen’s body

I’ve always like Payne since she was first introduced in the series. Even on the Other Side, she was such a badass character. And here we get to see her vulnerability. However as much as I like seeing her flip side, I also wanted more of her badassery (which only appeared at the very end).

I like Manny and Payne together and their storyline was engaging. However, I feel like V and Jane’s story overpower the main characters. Also, I don’t really see much purpose in the sub story of Butch’s former partner and the new guy.

If Xcor needed some blood to tide him over, he would get it from this woman, or another.

Xcor is a new character introduced in this book. I like the potential, but I don’t like how he simply accepted the issue at the end considering his mindset throughout the book. I also felt deprived of Murdher which is one of the reasons I wanted to read this book thinking he’d make an appearance.

She had the Bloodletter’s iron will not just in her face or her eyes or her body. It was in her soul.

Lover Unleashed is a story of overcoming obstacles and standing proud of who you are. I’m hoping the next book will continue with the potential new direction in the series.

P.S.: Is it wrong that I still have hope for V and Butch? Haha!

 

This review is also available on Goodreads.

Leave a Reply

