Review: Lover Mine by J.R. Ward

Title: Lover Mine
Author: J.R. Ward
Genre: Paranormal Romance/Urban Fantasy
Type: Book 8 from Black Dagger Brotherhood series
POV: Third Person
Rating:

It’s been a long journey since John Matthew was a scared, weak teenage boy. His tragic past thought him to be self reliant and compassionate. But even surrounded by good friends, he wanted something more and had his eyes on the unattainable.

As a half breed, Xhex is forced to live her life in secrecy. With a tough exterior, she built a wall around her heart and refused to let anyone in for the fear of repeating history. But when choices were taken from her, she must learn to adapt in order to survive.

I’ve been looking forward to this book since John was first introduced in the series. I love him and feel protected of him, so while I’m excited, I was also worried with how it will turn out.

He’d been there himself. He knew exactly what it was like to trip and fall and be in agony from hard impact… even though your body technically hadn’t gone anywhere.

I’m sure John’s past and how he overcame it would touch anyone’s heart. And because of that, he had that special understanding about not pushing others to laid bare. I love how he accepted Xhex for who she was and never forced her to do anything she wasn’t ready.

Shit, it was so damn girly. Next thing you knew, she was going to start crying at TV ads and doing her nails. And getting a frickin’ pocketbook.

I have to admit I never liked Xhex when she first appeared in the series. And I was especially unhappy when John started to show interest. How could my sweet John ever be with the too rough and tough female? I just couldn’t accept it, but then slowly since the last 2 books, I’ve been accepting her more and more and in this book, I can clearly see why they should be together. I love how she finally showed vulnerabilities and seeing her tough exterior scattered.

“You deserve so much better. I’m… really sorry.”

There were three different storyline in this book. The first was obvious, the second made sense as it progressed, but the third one seemed so unrelated that I’ve been wondering what the hell was it there for. And I love how the author brought everything together at the end.

Lover Mine is a story of overcoming personal demons and learning to rely on others. From the ending it looks like there’s still unfinished business from the past, so I’m looking forward to see which direction the next book will go.

 

This review is also available on Goodreads.

Leave a Reply

