Review: Ice Queen by Joey W. Hill

Title: Ice Queen
Author: Joey W. Hill
Genre: Erotic Romance
Type: Book 3 of Nature of Desire series
POV: Third Person
Rating:

Marguerite Perruquet was a well known Domme at The Zone. With her ice cold persona, she was admired by subs and Doms alike. Unfortunately for her, there was an issue with her appointment as the club Mistress where she was required to go through submissive training.

Tyler Winterman was one of the most sought after Master. When Marguerite chose him as her mentor, he knew she was hiding her true self and he was determined to break that barrier.

What intrigued me about this book is the premise of two dominants facing off. I always like the prospect of psychological dilemma within characters and I definitely got it here.

She shook her head, thinking a man this practiced in seduction should be labeled a dangerous weapon to protect any woman within twenty yards of him.

Like any good Dom, Tyler was calm and collected. He was commanding yet never blindly forceful. While I like his dominant side, I also like his sweet respectful demeanor. My favorite moment is at the tea party where he was cute. Yes, cute lol!

Could she trust Tyler enough to do that in this controlled environment that felt anything but controlled? Could she trust anyone to do that? And why was something that was so simple and safe feeling so threatening?

Marguerite led a lonely life. She refused to open herself up and faught her own heart along the way without realizing it’s hurting her even more. And she was a lot more fragile than she portrayed herself to be.

Before starting this book, I thought it was going to be a lot smuttier. I was pleasantly surprised it focused more on the character’s inner struggle. However I wish I got the full answer to her issue because it seems unnecessary for it to be stretched into a duet. Also, I have a personal problem with long chapters (my reading ADD don’t like it lol!) and this book has very long ones.

“I would start every day with my face in your cunt, eating you out, scraping that sweet clit with my teeth.”

I know some people have issue with some of the scenes, but for me I love it. It made me happy when author are not afraid of pushing reader’s limit. And in this case those scenes were significant to the character’s development.

“You’re not that fragile.”
“Yes, I am. I know what I can and can’t have to stay the person I need to be.”

Ice Queen revolves around a woman fighting her inner demon. It would appeal to readers who want a well rounded BDSM story.

Note:
Nature Of Desires is a standalone series but Marguerite and Tyler’s story is a duet. Technically this book can be read as a standalone if you don’t mind not having all question fully answered. Mirror of My Soul is the conclusion of their story.

 

★ Copy won from Shh… Dispelling The Myths About BDSM event ★

This review is also available on Goodreads.

2 comments

Leave a Reply

