Review: A Court of Mist and Fury by Sarah J. Maas

Title: A Court of Mist and Fury
Author: Sarah J. Maas
Genre: YA Fantasy
Type: Book 2 of 6 from A Court Of Thorns and Roses
POV: First Person – Female
Rating:

After the harrowing events Under The Mountain, Feyre was irrevocably changed. Even though physically free, mentally she still trapped, struggling in coping with what happened.

Rhysand was the feared and hated High Lord of Night Court. After being under the radar, he finally came to claim his part of the bargain and showed to Fayre a part of him that no one else ever seen.

After the ending of ACOTAR, I expected this book to be fast pace and explosive. I’m glad to say it definitely met my high expectations.

I was a survivor, and I was strong. I would not be weak, or helpless again. I would not, could not be broken. Tamed.

I have to admit, even though Feyre is one badass character, I’m not really a fan of hers. She had vulnerabilities which I love in characters, but I just couldn’t sympathize for her. I think it’s largely due to my love and loyalty to other character(s).

Here—here was the most powerful High Lord ever born. The face of dreams and nightmares.

If book 1 we got a glimpse of who Rhys was, now you would see Rhys in his full glory. And what a glorious sight it is mmm… lol! I was skeptical in the beginning. I still doubted him, but as the story progress I just can’t fight against my natural instinct. Rhys is the kind of character that I’m drawn to.

I was actually quite distressed before starting the book because of the number of pages. I’m allergic to long books. They made me all twitchy haha! Amazingly for a 600+ pages, I don’t think there was any dull moment. The action scenes were heart thumping. The drama was infuriating (in a good way). The love was inspiring and the sex was scorching :p

What did I have in my own beyond a good shot with a bow and brute stubbornness? And if I had this new power—these other powers …

This book introduced us to a bunch of new characters. When I get attached to characters, I became protective of them. But from the beginning, the new characters intrigued me and quite quickly and smoothly they started to latch into my heart too. And now I am worried. I like a lot of them and I just know someone’s gonna break my heart in the next book haha!

This was my home. These were my people. If I died defending them, defending that small place in the world where art thrived … Then so be it.

A Court Of Mist And Fury is a magnificent continuation of the series. I’m looking forward to see how the author is going to take the next book to the next level.

 

This review is also available on Goodreads.

4 comments

Leave a Reply

