Review: A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas

 

Title: A Court of Thorns and Roses
Author: Sarah J. Maas
Genre: YA Fantasy
Type: Book 1 of 6 from A Court of Thorns and Roses series
POV: First Person – Female
Rating:

Feyre’s family has been struggling with poverty since the last few years. To keep food on the table, she often went on a hunt close to the fae territory border. One day she hunted the wrong creature and as punishment, she was taken to their land of Prythian.

As a High Fae, Tamlin was used to the faeries looking up to him. But a human presence in his place created tension especially when she hated his race. But hatred and attraction had to take a back seat when a more pressing matter looming over the land.

I’ve seen people go crazy about this series but I never thought I would read it since it’s a long series. But curiosity pushed me to jump in and I didn’t regret it one bit.

I would not become a burden to him. I would not become another weight pressing upon his shoulders.

I like how Feyre was dedicated in her cause. She had her shortcomings but she knew how to work her strengths. Though, there were times she seemed a bit ignorant.

โ€œI might take an animal form, but I am civilized, Feyre.โ€

One word that could describe Tamlin is noble. I like seeing which direction he would go when presented with an issue. I love him for what he believed in.

I had never seen anyone so handsomeโ€”and never had so many warning bells pealed in my head because of it.

Rhysand and Lucien were equally memorable. While Rhys was mysteriously sexy, Lucien was fun and irreverent.

I find being with Feyre while she explored the magical kingdom and learning new things was interesting. However the pace was little slow. It took a while for it to change direction but once it did, it made it up with a lot of action and suspense.

All I had wantedโ€”all I had dared want, was a life that was quiet, easy. Nothing more than that. Nothing extraordinary.

A Court Of Thorn and Roses is a story of self discovery and fighting for one’s beliefs. It would appeal to fans of faeries and fantasy.

 

This review is also available on Goodreads.

Leave a Reply

