Review: An Exaltation of Larks by Suanne Laqueur

Title: An Exaltation of Larks
Author: Suanne Laqueur
Genre: Fiction/Saga
Type: Standalone Book 1 of Venery series
POV: Third Person
Rating:

Alejandro (Alex) Penda was only 11 years old when a coup ripped apart his country and his family. Safe in a new country, he befriended and became close to the Larks especially their daughter Valerie and formed a lifelong connection with them.

Javier Gil de Soto learned at a young age life is all about every man for himself. He barricaded his heart from any feelings that would make him weak. Ironically, he’s in the business of providing “love” when he, himself avoided any. But when fate collided and brought two families together it could be a soaring joy or a violent crash to the ground.

At some point I saw this book on my Goodreads feed a lot, but I’ve never really paid much attention to it. After seeing the general reactions of reviewers on this book, I knew I had to check it out myself. I’m glad I did.

“Aware of how tenuous life can be. How too many things go unsaid or undone. How we wait too long and miss the chance.”

Val was an emotionally strong character. She’s independent with a strong shot of sass, but with a soft heart that refused to be trampled.

“He’s simple, but he’s finely made. His experiences have crafted him. He has a moral compass that only points one way.”

While Alex had a big heart and readily share it with the ones he loved, he could also be quite fragile. I like his vulnerability but at times I also wish he was more assertive.

The man had to know what a lethal weapon he was, yet his demeanor was utterly casual. He wore a tux like it was a bathrobe. Hell, he probably could stand there in a bathrobe and own it.

Javi was definitely my favorite character. I love his life story and how he evolved throughout the book.

I like the concept of the story – how the lives of the characters interconnected to each others. It spanned across time with many characters in between. I like seeing the characters grew personally and among themselves, but for a non paranormal/fantasy book, it is very long. There was one major scene that I’m not sure if it fit or had enough closure towards the overall story. I understand the significance but the additional drama just felt a little off to me.

It’s no wonder we found each other.

An Exaltation of Larks is a saga that follows the lives of three individuals that are connected by circumstances and bound by an unbreakable bond. It would appeal to readers who like to be invested in a richly written story of family and friendship.

 

This review is also available on Goodreads.

Leave a Reply

