Review: The Night Mark by Tiffany Reisz

Title: The Night Mark
Author: Tiffany Reisz
Genre: Historical Romance/Mystery
Type: Standalone
POV: Third Person
Rating:

Faye Barlow was still grieving from the lost of her husband four years earlier. Unhappy with her current life, she grabbed the opportunity to get back to her first love of photography when the opportunity came. While capturing the beauty of an abandoned lighthouse, she was literally swept off her feet and transported back to the past to rediscover what it meant to truly live and love.

Carrick Morgan was the lighthouse keeper in 1921. After serving the war, he took the job of manning the lighthouse and saved lives from the dangerous waters. Unknown to him, one life he saved would change the tread of time and gave him life.

Since Tiffany Reisz is my favorite author, I’ve wanted to read this book since I first knew about it. But I never really paid attention to the blurb until the moment I started reading. I was pleasantly surprised it’s a time traveling romance.

“I’m just like this lighthouse. Still standing, still here. But I’m falling apart. The light’s off, and I don’t know how to turn it back on again.”

Faye was not a happy woman, but she learned to accept the past and made use of the second chance she got to find happiness she’s been longing. It was fun seeing her adapting to the minimal living condition on a lighthouse island of 1921.

A man like Carrick would definitely sweep a modern woman off her feet. He was gentlemanly, kind, humble and protective. Oh he was also Irish and talked with a little accent. It’s hard to not fall for him.

When people lost hope, they looked in the last place they remembered having it, and it was always in the past. Maybe someday they’d stop looking to the past to find their hope and start looking at one another, where hope really lived.

This is actually the first time traveling book I’ve read. I like the story with how the characters in the present and the past were interconnected. I also like the mystery surrounding the reason why it happened to Faye. However there were parts earlier in the book that was a little too slow for my liking. And there’s one major question that wasn’t addressed at the end of story.

“You see, a light’s night mark is its heartbeat. You know a man by his heart. You know a lighthouse by its beacon.”

What saved it for me is the location. I have a thing with lighthouses and abandoned buildings. I am also very nostalgic, so a lighthouse in 1921 that would be abandoned in the future got me all swooning and tingling haha!

“To think I spent my whole life believing time only went in one direction,” he said. “Thought it was a river. Turns out it’s an ocean. Waves come in. Waves go out. Sometimes those waves take us with them.”

The Night Mark is a romantic tale of hope and love that transcends time. It would appeal to readers who want to be swept off their feet by an unconventional romantic saga.

 

This review is also available on Goodreads.

Leave a Reply

