Review: Dirty Souls by Karina Halle

Title: Dirty Souls
Author: Karina Halle
Genre: Romantic Suspense
Type: Book 2 of 2 from Sins Duet
POV: Shifting – Multiple
Rating:

Vicente Bernal thought he had it all figured out when he set out on a quest to find out about his father’s past. He had never expected for his priority to changed dramatically and led him to a more dangerous path.

Violet McQueen’s life was thrown into disarray when she decided to follow her heart without totally comprehending what she signed up for. Slowly but surely, she accepted the darkness seeping into her veins, but it might ended up costing more than what she’s willing to pay.

Prior to starting this series, I knew the story would end up with a dilemma between the families. And that’s exactly what made this book pulled out various emotions in me.

I’m starting to realize that inside me there is a dark version of myself, one brought to life by Vicente’s confidence and wickedness.

Compared to book 1 which seems more mellow, book 2 was fast pace and action packed, which I prefer in my reading. There was always something happening that tested the characters’ loyalty and morality and it was both exciting and nerve wrecking to see which direction they would go.

“You won’t break me. You won’t break her. But you will break this family in half. And that’s something that will never recover.”

However, I felt like Vicente and Violet’s story was forced to take a step back when their infamous parents came into the picture. As much as I love the rivalry between the Bernals and the McQueens, the original characters definitely overshadowed the new generation.

“Don’t take it personally,” he says to me, his words throbbing with the torrential pain, just before I lose consciousness. “It’s just business.”

Fortunately there was a new character that stole my heart from the beginning. I felt he gave some balance in the dynamics between the generations.

Dirty Souls is a sexy and explosive conclusion to the Sins duet. This series would appeal to fans of romantic suspense and loyal fans of the author’s original series, The Artists Trilogy and Dirty Angels Trilogy.

Note 1:
I will always be unapologetically #TeamBernal

Note 2:
This series can be read without prior knowledge of the original series. However, readers might not fully appreciate the dynamics between the families without fully understating their history. Also if you plan to read the originals, do that first because there will be spoilers.

**Special thanks to my Javigina Twinsie CC for the surrogate (F)BR and for understanding this undying passion for our King lol!

 

This review is also available on Goodreads.

Leave a Reply

