Review: Blood Kiss by J.R. Ward

Title: Blood Kiss
Author: J.R. Ward
Genre: Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
Type: Book 1 of Black Dagger Legacy series
POV: Third Person
Rating:

As a daughter of the Founding Family, Paradise was brought up in a gilded cage. She was expected to be prim and proper, and adhere to the aristocratic standard. Desperate to break free, she decided to do the complete opposite by joining the Black Dagger Brotherhood training.

Craeg lost everything during the tragic period of their race. With a single focus on mind, he joined the training to prove his worth and the last thing he needed was a distraction from his goal.

I still have catching up to do with the BDB, but I can’t help by being curious of this series, so here I am lol!

“Do you like playing with fire, girl?” he growled. “Because if you keep looking at me like that, I’m going to burn you to the ground.”

I love Craeg. He had that typical brooding male persona that appeal to me. He was also an alpha without having too much of the “in your face” attitude.

Though I don’t like the name Paradise (lol!), I do like her as a character. I like how she fought for her independence and wasn’t afraid to put her foot down.

“I literally have nothing waiting for me. So I won’t let anything or anyone get in my way.”

One notable difference in this book compared to the BDB series is that the storyline was much simpler. Instead of a wider story with the happenings in their world, it focused more on the main characters’ relationship, with the original BDB couple Butch and Marissa as the secondary couple.

“You have never had to worry about where your next meal is coming from, you live in a fucking museum showcase of beautiful things—and pardon me, but you don’t know what it’s like to have people look down on you because you lost the DNA lottery!”

The underlying matter in this book was the differences of social status between both couples. I like seeing how each of them handled the issue.

Blood Kiss is the first book in the Black Dagger Legacy series. Looking forward to get to know all the new characters and be reacquainted with the old BDB favorites.

 

Note 1:
Axe is my favorite but I need to catch up with the original series before reading it 😩

Note 2:
Lassiter is probably the most lovable annoying character haha!

 

This review is also available on Goodreads.

4 comments

  1. Ugh I’m still waiting for the chosen. I wanted to finish that series before I touched this one because Ward keeps us hanging for a long period of time and I really don’t want the story lines getting mixed in my head. After 12 books that would be a disaster🙊😂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. lol! I’m only at book 6 but I’m curious and since my friends say no spoiler that’s why I read it. The timeline is parallel from book 13, so maybe I’ll read until book 13, then read together with Legacy books so it’s on same timeline. But that’s probably gonna take me another 3 years to read #13 hahah!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

