Review: Pre-war by Nicole Lynne

Title: Pre-war
Author: Nicole Lynne
Genre: General Fiction/Romance
Type: Book 0.5 from War series
POV: First Person – Multiple
Rating:

Poppy Turner was a lonely American girl who just moved to Ireland with her father. Struggling to fit in, she kept to herself until two boys noticed her.

Brandon is mean to her, and my ma says he’s trouble. I’m nice to Poppy. I like her, but she’s really nice to Brandon. I don’t know why.

Brandon O’Kieffe and Connor Blaine has been best friends for a long time. Even though coming from different social status and completely different personalities, both of them would always have each other’s back – even with a girl between them.

I wish I could be deserving. This is a form of torture all its own—loving her but staying away for fear of ruining everything. The fact is, I need her.

I love Brandon in War Poppy with his loyalty for Connor. So to be able to see where it stemmed from is both heartwarming and heartbreaking.

I know it will send me straight to hell, but I want to be like Brandon. I want to be a rebel, a pikey… because that’s what Poppy likes.

Their friendship was so precious, it made me want to wrap them in a cocoon do they won’t get hurt by the real world when they grew up. Childhood innocence has always been my kryptonite and just thinking how it would all change made me sad lol!

It’s not fair because deep down, Brandon has the kindest heart. He’s just so broken.

Pre-war is a coming of age story that follows the lives of three best friends. It is a good background story to the main book, War Poppy.

 

This review is also available on Goodreads.

Leave a Reply

