ARC Review: Dark Protector by Celia Aaron

Title: Dark Protector
Author: Celia Aaron
Genre: Romantic Suspense
Type: Standalone
POV: First Person – Dual
Release Date: February 27, 2017

 

From the moment I saw her through the window of her flower shop, something other than darkness took root inside me. Charlie shone like a beacon in a world that had long since lost any light. But she was never meant for me, a man that killed without remorse and collected bounties drenched in blood.
I thought staying away would keep her safe, would shield her from me. I was wrong. Danger followed in my wake like death at a slaughter house. I protected her from the threats that circled like black buzzards, kept her safe with kill after kill.
But everything comes with a price, especially second chances for a man like me.
Killing for her was easy. It was living for her that turned out to be the hard part.

 

Amazon

 

ARC provided in exchange for an honest review.

Charlie was a flower shop owner. Even though surrounded by beauty, she was battling an ugly past. Yet when she noticed she was being watched, she felt safe instead of fear.

Conrad (Con) Mercer was a ruthless man. As mafia contract killer, he did his works without a speck of emotion. But his soul needs soothing and watching Charlie provided that peace that made his life bearable. But longing for her could be deadly in his line of work.

I like the title and the intense look of the cover. The book itself is not as dark as the cover suggested, but it’s still a hot and enjoyable read.

He was a battlefield, his story told with blood and scar tissue.

Con was methodical when it comes to his work and life. But behind the hard shell, he had a space in his heart for possibility of something more.

I’d always thought of her as a delicate flower, but her past had given her thorns. Ones I needed to inspect, to run my hands along them until they drew blood, until I understood every ounce of pain she’d endured.

I like how Charlie was not who I thought she would be. She seemed weak and meek initially, but as the story progressed, she showed she also had something else to offer.

“We got a plan, Sam. It’s real heroic. Ends with one of us getting his dick wet.” Nate stuffed flash grenades into the dark green duffel. “Hopefully, it’s me.”

And then there was Nate, who’s actually my favorite character of all. He was the total opposite of Con’s dark and brooding persona. He stole the spotlight the moment he was introduced.

The plot is quite simple, but the story was fast pace and quite action packed, so it kept it interesting. And I have to say Nate’s character is primed for a spin-off. I hope one day he’ll get his own story. As for the relationship part is a little too instant for me considering the book general feel.

Dark Protector is a story of finding comfort with unlikely people. It would appeal to fans of sexy romantic suspense.

P.S.: I love the sentiment of why she chose flower business.

Final Verdict:

This review is also available on Goodreads.

 

Website   |   Goodreads   |   Facebook  |   Twitter  |  Instagram   |  Amazon

Celia Aaron is the self-publishing pseudonym of a published romance and erotica author. She loves to write stories with hot heroes and heroines that are twisty and often dark. Thanks for reading.

Sign up for my newsletter at aaronerotica.com to get information on new releases. (I would never spam you or sell your info, just send you book news and goodies sometimes). 😉

One comment

Leave a Reply

