ARC Review: Ripple Effect: Episode 2 by Keri Lake

Title: Ripple Effect: Episode 2
Author: Keri Lake
Genre: Erotic Suspense
Type: Book 2 of 4 from Ripple Effect series
POV: First Person – Dual
Expected Publication: March 7, 2017

 

Ripley

They call me RIP.
I’m a killer. A murderer. A psychopath.
In the eyes of the righteous, I’m a monster, born of sin and depravity.
I want to protect her, but I’m not a good man.
I want to love her, but I no longer feel.
She gets under my skin, though, and has awakened something inside of me.
Something I’d kill for.
I’m not her savior—not even close. In fact, I’m worse than the hell she’s already suffered.
I’m her vengeance. Tit for tat, as they say.
And if she’s not careful, I’ll be her ruin.

Dylan

For months, I’ve watched him.
I’ve fantasized him as my savior, my lover. My ticket out of the hell I’ve lived in for the last six years.
I never dreamed he’d be my nightmare.
Had I known what he really is, I’d have never gotten in the car that night, but life is full of cause and effect.
And sometimes the choice on offer isn’t a choice at all.
It’s the result of something already in motion, and we’re merely left to survive the ripple effect.

 

ARC provided in exchange for an honest review.

Ripple Effect Episode 2 continues the story of the mercenary, Ripley and the runaway, Dylan. It had a different vibe than in previous book. If before it was suspenseful, this time around if was darkly sexy.

She’s one of those rare finds that you stumble upon, covered in dirt and grime that, when you scrub away the tarnish, is actually a stunning piece of art.

Ripley offered Dylan a deal she couldn’t refuse, but it was up to her will to hold on to the deal which proved to be a challenge for her. I’m not going to lie, there were time I wanted to slap her unconscious lol!

This hell is mine. However long it lasts, it’s what I deserve.

This episode also touched more on her past and gave a glimpse of what his future could be like. I really like seeing the other side of Rip – both in term of physical and emotional.

“Truth is, Dylan, I’m not the kind of man to leave scars on your body, but don’t be foolish to think I won’t leave them inside your head.”

There’s one big question still unanswered from Episode 1 and hopefully there will be some disclosure next.

Final Verdict:

This review is also available on Goodreads.

 

Website   |   Goodreads   |   Facebook  |   Twitter  |  Amazon

 Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Newsletter

Keri Lake is a married mother of two living in Michigan. By day, she tries to make use of the degrees she’s earned in science. By night, she writes dark contemporary and paranormal romance. Though novels tend to be her focus, she also writes short stories and flash fiction on the many occasions when distraction sucks her in to the Land of Shiny Things.
She loves hearing from readers …

Leave a Reply

