Review: War Poppy by Nicole Lynne

Title: War Poppy
Author: Nicole Lynne (Stevie J. Cole & L.P. Lovell)
Genre: General Fiction/Romance
Type: Standalone Book 1 of War series
POV: First Person – Dual
Rating:

Brandon O’Kieffe was a soldier who lost his life the moment he lost his best friend Connor in war. As the sole survivor, guilt weighted him down on a daily basis that he struggled to keep his promise to take care of Connor’s wife.

Poppy Blaine not only lost her husband but also her best friend. Growing up together, the three of them were inseparable. When one was gone, both left behind had only each other to lean on to.

I wasn’t planning to read this book until I keep seeing about how sad it is. So of course I can’t resist diving in and I’m glad I took the plunge.

She makes me hope, and hope is dangerous to a guy like me because when it’s gone, it seems like there’s nothing left.

Brandon had hard time coping with the aftermath. The only way he knew how to forget was by self destruction. I hurt for him seeing how he struggled to stay afloat.

“You can’t carry me, Poppy. I can’t look at you,” I whisper. “I look at you, and all I see is him.”

Poppy was the sunshine and the glue that held their friendship. But even she had a hard time preventing her light from dimming. Still, she had inner strength that helped her soldier through for both of their sake.

I didn’t get rid of the monster, I just threw it in a cellar and prayed to fuck it wouldn’t come back out. Eventually it was roaring so loud the floorboards were shaking, and when it got loose…

What I love the most about this book is how it didn’t glamorized or romanticized the issue. It is the reality of what war veterans and their loved ones forced to face every single day. I understand this book might not be acceptable to everyone, but if you look at the big picture, peace could come from many different forms and the right thing to do is to understand and accept it.

War Poppy follows the lives of two individuals broken by a shared grief caused by war. It would appeal to readers looking for a realistic, moving story.

Note:
I love the tidbits of Brandon, Connor and Poppy’s childhood friendship, so I’d definitely want to read the prequel novella and hopefully get the full picture of their relationship.

 

This review is also available on Goodreads.

Leave a Reply

