Review: Deadly by Ker Dukey

Title: Deadly
Author: Ker Dukey
Genre: Dark Thriller
Type: Book (novella) 4 of 4 from Empathy series
POV: First Person – Multiple
Rating:

Cereus Braxton has been moving from places to places with Ryan for a few years. Even with his guidance, she was still struggling to accept her true self. When he showed her another side if himself that he kept hidden, it could turn into something that will finally push her to her full potential.

He was so comfortable in the dark, within himself, that I was jealous of his freedom and longed for him to help free me of them.

My love for Ryan keep growing with every book so it is no surprise I love him here as well. He was calm and calculated, and that’s what made him a formidable for. In this book we get to see another side of him.

He gave me everything but him completely and my body ached along with my heart for him to fully devour me.

Cereus was a mess compared to Ryan. She was uncontrollable and unpredictable which made her deadly.

“You’re mine, and I won’t let anyone take you from me.”

I like how there was a new dynamic in their relationship. It threatened their normal and pushed each of them to a dangerous direction.

I am conflicted with the ending though. On one hand I was disappointed with them not ended up the way I prefer. But on the other hand I like how it can be personally interpreted.

Normal people will never know just how magical, how beautiful the darkness can be.

Deadly is the conclusion to the dark thriller, Empathy series. The series would appeal to readers who love anti-heroes and villains.

Note:
Their love might be skewed but they really do love each other and I thought that’s very romantic in a disturbed way lol!

 

This review is also available on Goodreads.

Leave a Reply

