Review: To Have It All by B.N. Toler

Title: To Have It Old
Author: B.N. Toler
Genre: Contemporary Romance with Paranormal element
Type: Standalone
POV: First Person – Dual
Rating:

Liam was a good man thrown into a bad situation. Braving New York City as a homeless was not easy when everyone saw him as a garbage. One fateful day, he selflessly put himself in harm’s way to save Max Potter, an arrogant wealthy man who seemed to have everything. When he woke up from the ordeal, he was no longer in his own body, but Max’s instead.

Waverly Torres only wanted one thing from her ex – her freedom to move on. But with Max no longer himself, she started to see what could have been. Having a glimpse of that prove difficult for both her and Liam because nothing is ever certain when Karma came to play.

The moment I first saw this book, I knew I had to read it. I love books with moral dilemma and this book certainly put humanity front and center.

How was I supposed to do this? Was I supposed to give up all the people I loved and cared about? Just forget about them? How was I supposed to be Max Porter?

I love Liam the moment he was introduced. What he lacked in possession, he made it up with his heart. I like seeing how he struggled to live with his new “life” and how he made the most if it.

Pain isn’t traditionally beautiful, but somehow, it was on her.

In general, I do like Waverly, but there were instances I questioned her judgment considering what she had to endure in the past. But at the same time I can appreciate how she gave people chance.

The story was definitely interesting. I like how the author managed to portray the doubts and difficulties from both sides. However I wish (the real) Max was featured more. There were still unanswered questions about him and his part lacked closure – especially considering the main point of the story.

“When I take you to bed, when I’m deep inside of you, loving you, I want it to be me you see when you gaze up at me as you moan and tell me you love me. Me, Waverly . . . all of me. My heart, my soul, my body.”

To Have It All is a story of second chance and the opportunity to make it worthwhile. It would appeal to readers who love stories about life.

 

This review is also available on Goodreads.

Leave a Reply

