Review: Black Swan Affair by K.L. Kreig

Title: Black Swan Affair
Author: K.L. Kreig
Genre: Contemporary Romance
Type: Standalone
POV: First Person – Dual
Rating:

Maverick DeSoto had been friends with the Shepard brothers since she was young. While Kael became her best friends, a lifelong crush on his brother Killian became something more when he reciprocated and they became lovers.

But her heart was broken when Killian ended up marrying her sister instead while she picked up the pieces by marrying Kael. With only half a heart, she risked completely shattering it when the truth finally surfaced.

I know some readers avoid angst and drama like a plague. For me, I gravitate towards them because the high potential of hurt lol!

“We can’t help who we love, Maverick,” he tells me softly.

I was drawn to Kael from the beginning due to the position he was in. And as I got to know him better, I fell in love with him even more.

Continuing to love Killian is the equivalent of eating a whole pint of Ben & Jerry’s in one sitting. You know all the reasons you should put that shit away after one spoonful, but you can’t stop shoveling in bite after bite because it’s so damn sinful.

On first impression, Killian seemed like the villain. Some of his actions were also questionable. But beyond that, he had his own issue to deal with so.

I couldn’t have the man I really wanted and here was a man who genuinely wanted me.

Maverick was thrown into a difficult situation, so I did understand her dilemma. I didn’t hate her but I was not happy with how she had hard time giving her full heart to either of the brother.

It’s hard to hang on every word of the brother who also wants the same thing you do. The same woman, the same life, the same everything. He probably feels the same.

I like the story and the level of angst. It was just enough to keep me satisfied. But I do wish it hurt a little bit more just because I enjoy emotional pain haha! I figured out most of the revelations, still I enjoyed it nonetheless.

Black Swan Affair is a story of individuals forced to lay out their hearts that would change the course of their lives. It would appeal to readers looking for a sexy, lightly angsty read.

 

This review is also available on Goodreads.

Leave a Reply

