ARC Review: Blackwood by Celia Aaron

Title: Blackwood
Author: Celia Aaron
Genre: Dark Erotic Thriller
Type: Standalone
POV: First Person – Female
Expected Publication: January 8, 2017

 

I dig. It’s what I do. I’ll literally use a shovel to answer a question. Some answers, though, have been buried too deep for too long. But I’ll find those, too. And I know where to dig—the Blackwood Estate on the edge of the Mississippi Delta. Garrett Blackwood is the only thing standing between me and the truth. A broken man—one with desires that dance in the darkest part of my soul—he’s either my savior or my enemy. I’ll dig until I find all his secrets. Then I’ll run so he never finds mine. The only problem? He likes it when I run.

Author’s Note: This is a standalone mystery/suspense romance with violence and explicit/intense sex. If you need a trigger warning, then this isn’t the book for you.

 

ARC provided in exchange for an honest review.

Elise (Red) Vale was a doctorate student in archaeology. She had her eyes on the Blackwood Estate for possible discovery of Native American artifacts. But she also had a personal agenda to uncover a mystery she intend to solve.

Garrett Blackwood was the reclusive owner of the estate. Preferring to shut himself out of the world, he tried to warn her away but there was something about her that provoked his hunger. Her glutton for punishment could unearth something that better left buried.

Erotic thriller/suspense is one of my favorite genre and I’m happy this one met my expectations.

“You don’t have to protect me from anything.”
“I do. I have to protect you from me.”

I love broody mysterious hero and Garrett certainly fit the bill. And he had a certain proclivity that made him even more irresistible.

I wanted him angry, hungry, and past all reason. And I wanted to be caught.

First of all, I love how he called her Red. I like how she was fearless in her pursuit of the truth even though some of her actions were unnecessarily risky.

Hunkering down, I picked my way through the undergrowth, aiming for patches of sun and avoiding marshy areas. The smell of damp earth clung to my nose as I rushed through the crystalline air and bitter cold.

One of my favorite thing about this book is the feel. I love the eerie ambiance and the descriptive writing helped transport readers to the location.

“I’m the fucking wolf, and I’ll eat you alive.”

I like how the mystery element was played out. The slow drips of answers made me keep flipping the page. However, I do wish the main revelation was twistier. Certain things were a little too straightforward to me.

The sex scenes were exciting and intense. Let’s just say I’d be thrilled and aroused to be lost in the deep dark woods lol!

Blackwood is a story of a woman uncovering the truth and a man who helped her discovering her hidden desires. It would appeal to readers looking for a mysteriously sexy dark read.

Final Verdict:

This review is also available on Goodreads.

 

Website   |   Goodreads   |   Facebook  |   Twitter  |  Instagram   |  Amazon

Celia Aaron is the self-publishing pseudonym of a published romance and erotica author. She loves to write stories with hot heroes and heroines that are twisty and often dark. Thanks for reading.

Sign up for my newsletter at aaronerotica.com to get information on new releases. (I would never spam you or sell your info, just send you book news and goodies sometimes). 😉

Leave a Reply

