Review: Darkness Within by Isabel Lucero

Title: Darkness Within
Author: Isabel Lucero
Genre: Dark Erotic Thriller
Type: Standalone
POV: First Person – Male
Rating:

Every single day Donovan James battled with the darkness that threatened to consume him. Days of him being helpless long gone. It’s time for him to have his vengeance against those who wronged him.

Analeigh (Leigh) wasn’t looking for a relationship. But Donovan intrigued her with his mysterious persona. She was determined to peel into his past but risked digging too deep where she shouldn’t.

“What I allow you to see and who I actually am, are two completely different things. Never forget that.”

Donovan’s dark past defined him as an adult. He was detached and ruthless in meeting his goal. Still, he showed that he was capable of feeling something more.

She thinks she’ll be able to change me, but she’s wrong.

Analeigh was someone fun and free. But sometimes she appeared to be overly pushy.

The story had potential, but I think the execution could be better. I had hard time trying to relate to the characters. There was a lack intrigue especially that the narrator explained pretty much every single actions he took. As a reader, I want to be able to make my own discovery along the way. Besides, I wasn’t surprised by the revelations.

I watch as my fingers squeeze her delicate throat, and love the way her pale skin pinks up.

Good thing the sex was hot lol! Their encounters are mostly short but intense. I also like how it ended.

My rage burns deep and it burns forever.

Darkness Within is a journey into the mind of a man in thumping down his dark urges. It would appeal to readers looking for non romantic dark read.

 

This review is also available on Goodreads.

Leave a Reply

