ARC Review: One by E.S. Carter

Title: One
Author: E.S. Carter
Genre: M/M Contemporary Romance
Type: Standalone Book 5 of Love by Numbers series
POV: First Person – Dual (Male)
Expected Publication: December 1, 2016

 

One click.
One perfect frame.
That’s all it takes to capture an eternal moment; although most people let them pass by without acknowledgement.
I don’t waste any.
Not a single one.
If I see something of beauty, I want to experience it, feel it and immortalise it.
If I see someone of beauty, I want to taste them, worship them and memorise them.
I don’t have a type, if I like you, I like you.
I don’t have a preference.
My bisexuality is a gift, not a defect.
It’s the freedom to see beyond gender.
One blink.
One touch.
One night.
Life is filled with so many ones.
One chance to get things right.
One life to live as you choose.
One decision that gives you acceptance.
One person to fill the emptiness.
Just one?
Nah, like I said, life is full of ones.
My camera lets me focus on the good times; I develop from life’s negatives and if things don’t work out, I just take another shot.
Who needs just one?

Book #5 in the ‘Love by Numbers’ series.
Can be read as a standalone.

 

Pre-order at:

Various platforms

 

ARC provided by the author in exchange for an honest review.

Isaac Fox was a world renowned photographer. With his good looks and openly bisexual preference, he had no problem getting any man or woman into his bed. But his busy work schedule and a wounded heart kept him lonely until he was brought face to face with a past he could never forget.

Flynn Phillips was the hottest fitness celebrity to grace TV and magazines. Even with his fame, his dark past still choked him and refused to let go. And it didn’t helped when his head tried to fight what his heart wanted.

What first drew me to this book was the cover. I have a thing with photographers – which I’ll explain later. Then the blurb sealed the deal. The story is as beautiful and as deep as the two elements suggested.

“We’re like fire and gasoline. He will burn me alive, and I will only fuel the flames.”

To me, Isaac was faultless. I love him for not being afraid and how much he did for the people around him. With his stenght, he had enough vulnerability without being crippled by it.

Day-by-day my “brand’ soars, my business grows, and more and more people want a piece of Flynn Phillips. If only they knew that this perfect body houses a less than perfect man.

Flynn’s actions and emotions were very volatile. Even though I wanted to hurt him at times, I do understand where he came from. The anger, fear, confusion and sadness added dimension to someone who could easily be superficial.

I love stories that stirred my emotions and this book did that. I haven’t read any other book in the series so I didn’t know what to expect in term of the feel, so I was pleasantly surprised by some teary moments. But since I like when characters get (emotionally) hurt, I do wish there was extra conflict towards the end of the book :p

His hand pumps my shaft while his tongue fucks into my mouth to the same rhythm I bounce on his cock. It’s too good.

My wish for a certain sexy scene didn’t come true, but I was pacified with other form of sexiness. I certainly like what they did to each others lol!

I want a man. Not any man, this man.

One is a story of forgiveness and acceptance – two simple act of kindness that could change a person’s outlook that would lead to a more meaningful life. This book would appeal to readers looking for sexy romance laced with emotions.

Note:
I love photographers because they can see things from a different perspective – especially capturing the beauty of something someone else might see as ugly/unwanted. Once upon a time I wanted to be one. I can still be one, so one day, I might actually be one lol!

Final Verdict:

This review is also available on Goodreads.

 

Website   |   Goodreads   |   Facebook  |   Twitter |  Instagram

Eli Carter is a mum of three from the U.K.
She is a stay-at-home mum and a part-time advocate for families of children with special needs.
Her life is pretty manic, and she often gets asked, “How do you find the time to write?”
The answer is simple; she never sleeps, but not from lack of trying.
Reading and writing are her therapy, her solace and often the one thing that gets her through the long nights. (That and copious amounts of caffeine and sugar!)
She loves to connect with readers, so please feel free to friend/follow her on Facebook, IG and Twitter or join her reader’s group, E’s Elite ❤

Leave a Reply

