ARC Review: Ex Games by Stella Rhys

Title: Ex Games
Author: Stella Rhys
Genre: Contemporary Romance
Type: Standalone
POV: First Person – Female
Expected Publication: November 18, 2016

 

What’s ice-cold but hotter than hell? Rebounding with your ex’s older brother, of course.

A perfect storm led me to this place. Ghosted by my fiancé, I was suddenly broke, heartbroken and facing eviction. Enter Mason Leo, the six feet and two inches of pure muscle and arrogance I’ve hated with a passion since the day we met. The man is cocky, womanizing and ruinously gorgeous.

Worse than that, he’s my ex’s brother. And for the next two weeks, he gets to do with me as he pleases.

I’ll explain.

With both our exes – wait for it – set to marry each other in St. Lucia, I’ve agreed to let Mason pay my debts so long as I play his date. My only job is to keep my clothes on while I get my closure. Because as much as I hate Mason Leo, the man is a walking sex god. And in the name of revenge, he gets to take me out, show me off – dress, touch and kiss me with those wicked lips. It’s all for show, but every night in paradise with him brings more drinks, more drama and another temptation, so no matter what I do, I can’t stop reminding myself this:

There’s absolutely no good to come from f*cking my ex’s brother.

No matter how good it’ll feel.

 

ARC provided by the author in exchange for an honest review.

Taylor Simms’ life was going down the drain. After being dumped by her fiancee Aaron, she was left with a mountain of debts and the news of his impending nuptial to someone else. Struggling to make ends meet, she was presented with a solution that’s not exactly ideal, but the best she could get for her situation.

Mason Leo was the deliciously infuriating brother of her ex. With their exes set to marry each other, he devised a revenge plot by having them faking a relationship. But their hatred to each other while masking their hidden attractions might end up derailing the original plan.

I started this book thinking it’s an easy breezy light read. It is that, but also with something extra to help it up a notch.

I wanted to be the person to save you whenever you needed. I wanted to be the man who took care of you and held you at night.

Mason was very sexy. He was gorgeous and rich. What’s not to like? Oh also somewhat an asshole – which made him even sexier :p

I like seeing Taylor’s vulnerabilities and how she coped with the things thrown at her. I also love her relationship with her BFF.

If I could transport myself back in the past and tell myself that one day, I’d be thinking all day about Mason Leo, missing him and aching for the comfort it felt like only he could provide, I’d tape my own mouth shut and call myself a filthy liar.

Mason and Taylor had a good chemistry. I love their banters and I appreciate that it stayed intact even as their relationship evolved. The story had a good amount of ups and downs to keep it interesting.

Ex Games is a story of a couple out for a revenge and closure. This sexy story has some light funny moments and some emotional bits in between, would appeal to readers who are looking for a enemies to lovers book.

Final Verdict:

This review is also available on Goodreads.

 

Website   |   Goodreads   |   Facebook  |   Twitter

Born and raised in New York, Stella Rhys has been a lifelong addict of all things glamour and romance. She wrote the majority of her first book, IN TOO DEEP, on the Q Train and lives for the suddenly rainy days that force her to share cabs with sexy, suited strangers (okay, that only happened once, but a girl can hope for a second time). Other obsessions include chocolate, wine, the Yankees and cooking recipes that are way out of her league. She absolutely loves hearing from readers, so don’t be shy!

2 comments

Leave a Reply

