Review: Empathy by Ker Dukey

Title: Empathy
Author: Ker Dukey
Genre: Dark Suspense
Type: Book 1 of 3 from Empathy series
POV: First Person – Multiple
Rating:

Damian Blake Braxton grew up in a traumatic childhood. He assumed parental position and protected his brother Ryan, making sure everything set for his future. He also protected the people as a police detective. But behind the hero persona, he was also the villain whose side job was contract killing, and his latest hit ended up in unnecessary complication.

Melody Masters was a college student from a happy wealthy family. But all that was shattered when her life unexpectedly took a violent tumble. She found a friend and a lover in time of need, not knowing the enemy that laid within.

After wanting to read this book for a while, I’m glad I finally met Blake and Ryan. They were certainly special… lol!

I don’t want to love, I don’t want to feel, I don’t want empathy.

I like how Blake had opposite personality when it came to his job vs his private life. And I like both sides :p

Yes, I’m well above average in looks and intelligence but I can’t help but wonder how broken these people must be to see something in me worth loving or wanting.

Ryan was the opposite of his brother. He was a recluse, never bothering to be accepted by people around him.

Every thought of him leads me to fantasizing about him taking me, and when I’m around him, God, I lose all ability to ward off my vagina’s impulses.

For someone whose life turned upside down, Melody had her moments of both strenght and weakness. I like how with her own issue, she wasn’t selfish in her misery.

The story was intriguing. And even though some things seemed clear cut, I’m glad there was still a certain degree of unexpected revelations.

Empathy is a story of nature vs nurture and how one live with it. This fast pace story would appeal to fans of dark suspense.

 

This review is also available on Goodreads.

Leave a Reply

