Review: Lover Unbound by J.R. Ward

Title: Lover Unbound
Author: J.R. Ward
Genre: Paranormal Romance/Urban Fantasy
Type: Book 5 of Black Dagger Brotherhood series
POV: Third Person – Multiple
Rating:

Vishous came from a fearsome family legacy. With a tortured past, he closed his heart towards everything but eradicating the lessers. But an injury brought him to someone who made him experience something new.

Jane Whitcomb was a human doctor that fixed his heart both literally and figuratively. But being from a different world prevented them from being together especially when he was fated for something else.

Each of the Brothers in the series had something special about them that lure me in. I like how distinctive they are and how accepting they are of each others.

Theoretically Jane had operated on his heart, not his head, but he hadn’t been right since he’d been on her table.

What first caught my attention about V was his kinkiness – besides his special power. I also like how he had a dark past. I was hoping to get more of his kinky side but that didn’t happened. There were mentions but hardly any actions of such situations.

She was his rhalman, his savior.

I really like Jane as the heroine. She was strong, ambitious and won’t take shit from anyone. And with strength, she still had compassion to make her likeable.

Look what he had to offer Jane: Secrets. Lies. Danger.

I’ve always like how the books in the series had elaborate parallel plots. In this one, I love the other story on John Matthew and Phury. However, I do feel their stories overshadowed V and Jane’s.

Lover Unbound is a story of two people overcoming their pasts and the sacrifices made for their future. I’m not quite sure of one element in the ending, still I enjoyed this book overall.

Note:
I love the little tidbits on the Scribe Virgin. It made me changed my opinion on her seeing her different side.

 

This review is also available on Goodreads.

Leave a Reply

