Review: Coast by Jay McLean

Title: Coast
Author: Jay McLean
Genre: Contemporary Romance
Type: Book 2 of 2 from Kick, Push series
POV: First Person – Dual
Rating:

After walking away from everything she loved, Becca Owens focused on living her life. As a college student, she spent her time with activities to keep herself busy. Still, her life was empty until she reconnected with her past.

Josh Warden was living his dream. As a popular pro skater, he lived a lonely life between hotel rooms. Even with his family and friends around, he never felt complete until Becca was back in his life. But both of them needed to learn to adapt to the inevitable changes that happened around them.

I love book 1 Kick, Push, but somehow I kept pushing this one back. I’m glad I finally Coast to the finish line :p

My heart beating wildly for a boy who has no idea that even from a distance, even through his secrets, he’s finding a way to heal me.

I absolutely love Josh in previous book. His life did a complete 180, achieving dreams he was previously forced to abandon. I’m happy that with all that he was still the same responsible yet vulnerable man.

“Because it’s not fair that you should have to love me broken, especially when I can never make you whole.”

I like how Becca was doing things that made her happy. She still struggled from time to time but she found a purpose in pursuing what made her happy.

Of course Tommy as adorable as ever. However I do think some parts he was acting too old for his age.

As for the story, it wasn’t sad like in book 1, but I still enjoyed getting back to characters I know and love, in addition to new entertaining characters.

Coast is the conclusion to the series about healing and pursuing dreams. The story was heartwarming with bursts of lighthearted moments.

 

This review is also available on Goodreads.

Leave a Reply

