Review: The Silent Waters by Brittainy C. Cherry

Title: The Silent Waters
Author: Brittainy C. Cherry
Genre: Contemporary Romance
Type: Standalone Book 1 from Elements series
POV: First Person – Dual
Rating:

Maggie May Riley was a precocious young girl. Her happy and bubbly personality captured the hearts of people around her. But a traumatic experience took away her voice and locked her up in her personal prison and forever changed the course of her life and her loved ones.

Brooks Tyler Griffin was the boy that captured Maggie’s innocent young heart. He went from incredibly annoyed to utterly smitten by her tenacity. When she was sinking, he was there to keep her from drowning. But sometimes a rogue wave could crash by and pull you even deeper under.

Once in a while I came across books that punched me in the heart and left a lasting beautiful ache. This book is one of them.

I loved how he could see me when the rest of the world forgot I existed.

Maggie was such an adorable kid. So young and innocent, and to see that bright light dimmed away really hurt. I could relate to her on every level and I understand her coping mechanism.

Why couldn’t I fix her ? Why couldn’t I take her pain and make it my own?

Brooks was someone anyone could use as a friend. He was kind, loyal and patient. I love how much selfless he was, even if it hurt him to do so.

These two latched to my heart since the very beginning. Their letters both as kids and adults did things to my heart haha! I understand the actions of every single characters in this book no matter heroes or villains. And, oh I adore Mrs. Boone!

Being in love with someone didn’t mean you only loved them during the sunbeams. It meant you stood by their side during the cloudy nights, too.

I really like the story and how it turned around, but I wasn’t fond of the last 10% or so. It was too much too soon. I would prefer if it was wrapped up with a little more layers to make it more realistic.

That night I realized a few things about life. Sometimes the rain was more pleasing than the sun. Sometimes the hurt was more fulfilling than the healing. And sometimes the pieces of a puzzle were more beautiful when scattered apart.

Silent Waters is a beautiful story of hurt and healing which reminds us no matter how strong we are, we could always use an anchor to secure us from drifting away.

Note:
I very rarely use music in my review but this song wouldn’t leave my head while I read this. So I decided to include it. The lyrics is perfect for the story.

I Will Be by Leona Lewis
I will be, all that you want
And get myself together
Cause you keep me from falling apart
All my life, I’ll be with you forever
To get you through the day
And make everything OK

 

This review is also available on Goodreads.

Leave a Reply

