Interview: Ker Dukey & K. Webster

Click HERE for Pretty Stolen Dolls Release Blitz

 

Exclusive Interview with Ker Dukey

 

How did you become an author? Is it something you always wanted to do or is it something that came later in life?

Writing, creating is something I’ve always done. My sister gave me the push to put my work out there for others to read.

 

What made you chose to write dark genre?

I’d say it choose me. I never intended to write dark necessarily; my characters were just born that way! Hehe

 

You have done plenty of collaboration. Do you prefer to do that or work on your own?

I like sharing the work load :p I enjoy both, I’ve been very lucky to have two amazing co-authors that have been fun to work with.

 

If you have 24 hours left to live, how would you spend it?

With my family just taking them to the places, they love most.

 

Which book of yours you’re most proud of? Is there any book you wish you didn’t write/write differently?

Desolate is my favorite; I have a real soft spot for Ryan.

 

Some books (not necessarily yours but in general) glorified moral/social/psychological corruption. Do you feel authors should be more responsible in portraying what’s acceptable to society?

I think if someone reads a book and then believes just from that, that it is normal for such acts, incidents then they were already broke long before picking up an authors book.

 

Certain subjects could outrage sensitive readers. Do you censor yourself when writing? Would you change something in your book to make it more acceptable to the general masses?

I tend not to; I let the story and characters unfold how they demand it.  

 

What is your most treasured experience/memory as an author?

Meeting my readers, it amazes me how devoted and wonderful they are.  

 

Which character you wrote that you feel most connected to? Why/how?

Ryan. He just spoke to me the loudest, and I love his humorous, dark moments that left even me opened mouthed.  

 

Do you have any writing hard limit? Any genre or subject you will never write about?

Bestiality <—- shudders.

 

 

Exclusive Interview with K. Webster

How did you become an author? Is it something you always wanted to do or is it something that came later in life?

Once upon a time, I went to a signing at a bookstore to see Colleen Hoover, Abi Glines, and Jamie McGuire.  As I listened to them talk about their books and felt so connected to an author, I began to wonder if I had it in me to write a book.  I’d always been an avid reader and breathed books.  It felt natural to take that next step.  I came home from the signing and opened a Word document.  Ten days later, I had my first book.  I don’t think my fingers have stopped since.

 

You’ve written books in various genres. Which genre is your favorite to write and why?  

Dark romance is my favorite sub genre by far for several reasons.  First, it sells. Plain and simple, it outsells all the other genres I write in.  Secondly, it’s my favorite to read.  I’m a sucker for the dark and depraved.  I have an unhealthy love affair with villains.  Dark is MY light.  Third, I love a challenge and love bending/testing rules.  If people say something isn’t allowed in a genre, I do it anyway.  Who says you can’t write a psychological thriller but also have a love story?  Who says you can’t write a book that the romantic relationship would be illegal in most countries?  Who says you can’t have a hero who messes up badly and a villain who sometimes redeems himself?  Dark romance is simply where I stretch my wings, test the limits, and write whatever my heart desires.  I’m free to do what I want there, therefore the allure to write in that genre is the greatest.

 

Do you have any writing hard limit? Any genre or subject you will never write about?  

I have none which should make you nervous as a reader.  Nothing scares me in books.  Rarely do I cringe.  Hardly ever do I think something is too much.  If the book is well-written, I can get on board with just about any subject.  Something I’d love to do is write a YA book but I don’t know if I could write a book without sex or cursing.  So I guess a book without sex or cursing is my hard limit…ha!

 

Which book of yours you’re most proud of? Is there any book you wish you didn’t write/write differently?

My favorite book probably is This is War, Baby.  It was a unique concept and an unusual story line.  My hero is afflicted, flawed, and bizarre.  Writing him took a ton of research but I think it paid off.  He tends to be one of my most favored heroes by readers in all of my books.  If I could go back and change anything in any of my books, it would be to tackle the first books with the knowledge I now have about writing.  Back then, I didn’t really have a style yet.  However, as appealing as that is to fix my mistakes, my brain isn’t wired that way.  I’d prefer to power forward with new books and simply make those the best they can be.

 

What is your most treasured experience/memory as an author?  

Probably my first book signing.  To be someone that people came to see, wanted signed paperbacks from, or someone that a reader was willing to try out, was surprising.  When I first wrote my books, I’d never imagined later having such a loyal readership.  It still shocks me that people follow me into different genres and read whatever weirdness I write.

 

Which character you wrote that you feel most connected to? Why/how?  

Andi from Broken (my first published book) reminds me the most of myself.  She’s flawed and makes mistakes.  Her heart is a twisted mess because of her past and she makes bad decisions because of it.  I can relate to her.  Then, later in the series, she deals with some issues that I also dealt with personally.  I was able to connect with her and feel the heartache/loss she dealt with.

 

Do you read reviews? If yes, how do you deal with negative reviews?

I rarely read them.  If someone tags me or sends it to me in messenger, I’ll read it.  But I never just go to Amazon or Goodreads to look through my reviews.  As much as the higher ratings make me proud, I always seem to stumble on the low ones.  I always stand 100% behind my storyline–no matter how strange–so if someone doesn’t connect, I don’t get bothered.  I work tirelessly and spend boatloads of money on editing so that it can be a sharp finished product.  So when I get criticized for things I cannot control, it eats away at my self-esteem.  I tend to question my writing….worry if I’m good enough….wonder what I could have done better.  To be quite frank, reading bad reviews is a mojo killer.  And since I’m always writing and moving forward, I can’t afford to have anything slow me down.  Instead of focusing on reviews, I simply power through my next book.  Many people claim that bad reviews help them get better as a writer.  While I appreciate their willingness to find a silver lining, I disagree for my own career.  I have an excellent editor, amazing beta readers, and a desire to outdo myself with each book.  Reading bad reviews don’t help me…something that stunts my own personal creativity is not a tool in my eyes.  Striving for perfection with each book is how I improve as a writer.  Listening to my beta and editor suggestions is how I improve as a writer.  Paying attention to the excitement of readers with each release is how I improve as a writer.

 

What do you find to be the hardest when it comes to writing?  

My biggest problem with writing is as soon as I hit “The End,” I’m done.  I’m over the story.  I don’t want to look at it or read it or anything.  My brain is wired to focus on the next story.  However, I still have to edit, do rewrites, market, etc.  I have to read the dang book fifty more times so that by the end I hate it.  So the hardest thing for me is not treating my book like a redheaded stepchild the moment I finish ha!

 

If you could bring one of your characters to life, which one would it be? Why him/her?

I would bring Neesy Noble from Untimely You to life.  She’s quirky and hilarious and clumsy.  She could be my friend and I wouldn’t be the only nerd who falls down stairs, trips over her own feet, and destroys everything in her path.

 

Can you reveal how you come out with your book titles and cover concepts?

I reach into my magician’s hat and pull them out.  Ta-da!  Just kidding.  Usually, I do things backwards.  Instead of trying to find an impossible picture in my head, I search unusual pictures that I can build a cover around.  It works much better that way.  As far as title go…I usually have the story line in my head and at least one conversation with the characters where they’ll say something that has meaning to the title.  Easy peasy.  

Leave a Reply

