Review: Black Sheep by Tabatha Vargo

Title: Black Sheep
Author: Tabatha Vargo
Genre: Contemporary Romance
Type: Standalone
POV: First Person – Dual
Rating:

Tyson Payne never knew the love of a family. Growing up with a drug addict father, he was exposed to the darkness of life at young age. He was happy to finally got out of it when he was adopted by the Palmers.

Nicole Palmer grew up surrounded by familial love. When her family took in a quiet boy, her fascination of him amplified as she watched him grew up into a fine young man. She was determined to get through him despite the fortress he built around his heart.

I picked up this book because it sounds potentially dark and/or sad but it wasn’t really either for me.

I was hell, and she was heaven, and I’d never drag her down with me.

Tyson had a dark/sad history. Unfortunately, I couldn’t connect his past and present. I understand his past is a sensitive issue for some, but I wish it was more elaborated for a stronger impact. He also kept mentioning about his darkness but I couldn’t see much of it except for the little glimpse of his past. I do like how appreciative he was to people who gave him chance to flourish.

I could never be what she wanted, even if she did accept my blackness.

Nicole always saw good in people and that included Tyson. She wanted to show him light even when he preferred to stay in the dark. I like how she took responsibility to her loved ones, even if at times she could be incredibly naive.

She lit up my soul and my heart. Maybe she could scare away my demons, and we could be together.

The story had good potential but the execution could have been better. There was no revelation to the readers because everything was laid out easily. As mentioned with Tyler’s issue, there were too many telling and not enough showing. There were also questions left unanswered. If things were unraveled differently, it could have added depths to both characters and story.

Black Sheep is a story of a man rising up from adversity and the woman who believes in him and encouraged him to break out of his shell. It would appeal to readers who prefer things on the lighter side.

 

This review is also available on Goodreads.

Leave a Reply

