ARC Review: Retrieval by Aly Martinez

Title: Retrieval
Author: Aly Martinex
Genre: Romantic Suspense
Type: Book 1 of 2 from The Retrieval Duet
POV: First Person – Multiple
Expected Publication: September 13, 2016

 

One story. Two couples.

I proposed on our first date.
She laughed and told me I was insane. Less than a day later, she said yes.
It was a whirlwind, but we were happy…
Until we got greedy and wanted a family.

It was a life I couldn’t give her, not for lack of trying. Fertility just wasn’t on our side. We sought out doctors and treatments. Spent money we didn’t have. Lied to our families. Smiled for our friends. Put on a brave face for a world that didn’t understand.
Finally, we were successful…
Until we were forced to bury our son.

We were left broken, battered, and destroyed.
They say love is in the details, but it was the details that ruined us.

This is the story of how I took back what had always been mine.
The retrieval of my wife and our family.

 

Pre-order at:

Amazon US |  Amazon UK |  iBooks  |  Kobo

 

Roman Leblanc and Elisabeth (Lissy) Keller fell in love in a whirlwind romance. After five years of infertility issue, Lissy finally gave birth but lost it soon after. Death of their baby triggered them to pull away from each other that eventually led to their divorce. Two years later, they were reunited in an unusual circumstances and must work together to fight for what they lost.

I had no idea what I’m getting into when I first read the blurb. But as I finished the first few chapters I knew this is going to be a good one. The underlying premise is similar to one of my top favorite book but this one definitely stood on its own.

“I will fix us, Elisabeth,” he vowed. “Mark my words. I will not spend my life without you.”

Roman did not impress me on first look. But as the story progressed, his character peeled off layers upon layers of qualities that ended up with me loving him. I appreciate how fiercely protective he was for his family.

Lissy had a fragility that might make her look like a damsel in distress. But beyond that, she had strength and determination to do the right thing for her and her family.

There are several important characters in this book that interconnected to each other in some way or another. The last 10% of the book was intense and primed the story for the conclusion in Transfer which hopefully answers the question of why things happened at the first place.

My life was with her. It always had been. It always would be.

Retrieval is a story of a troubled couple mending their relationship for something that could change their future. The fast pace suspenseful story will keep you glued until the very last page.

Note:
I did somewhat figured something out but still it didn’t take away from the story 😀

Final Verdict:

This review is also available on Goodreads.

✿ ARC won through #ShhSummerBuzzBooks

 

Website   |   Goodreads   |   Facebook  |   Twitter

Born and raised in Savannah, Georgia, Aly Martinez is a stay-at-home mom to four crazy kids under the age of five, including a set of twins. Currently living in South Carolina, she passes what little free time she has reading anything and everything she can get her hands on, preferably with a glass of wine at her side.

After some encouragement from her friends, Aly decided to add “Author” to her ever-growing list of job titles. Five books later, she shows no signs of slowing. So grab a glass of Chardonnay, or a bottle if you’re hanging out with Aly, and join her aboard the crazy train she calls life.

Leave a Reply

