Review: Full Tilt by Emma Scott

Title: Full Tilt
Author: Emma Scott
Genre: Contemporary Romance
Type: Standalone Book 1 of 2 from Full Tilt series
POV: First Person – Dual
Rating:

Kasey Dawson was the guitarist of Rapid Confession, a band on the verge of stardom. With fame, came the downward spiral of rock and roll lifestyle that was threatening everything she worked for. She started to lose who she was inside until someone helped her see that she was so much more.

Jonah Fletcher was an upcoming glass artisan. With a major exhibit closing in, he worked hard to make a mark by sticking to his rigid schedule. When Kasey came barreling into his life, he saw there’s something more to life than just leaving a legacy. They both needed each other to realize what the most important thing in life is and make it worth a lifetime.

I wanted to read this book for quite a while and glad finally had the chance to do so because I’m a sucker for ugly crying books. This book is not exactly ugly crying for me but a crying one none the less so that made me happy haha!

Jonah had some magic quality about him that let me feel like myself.

Jonah was a good guy who would make it easy for anyone to fall for him. He focused on the tasks he put forth to forget what’s inevitable. He built a wall because he thought it would be easier for him and everyone else. Yet, he wasn’t selfish and opened up his heart to a lost soul when he found one.

I love Kasey as much as Jonah – which is rare for me when it comes to heroines. She willingly jumped into the relationship knowing how far it would go.

The solidity of him calmed me more. Not his anger, that was a shield between himself and the world, but what lay beneath.

I love how symbiotic their relationship was. They needed each other to distract them from sinking into their personal pit. But as much as I love them, my favorite character was Theo, his brother. I don’t want to elaborate much but his situation made me feel protective of him.

No more living life halfway. We had to go full tilt, just like the card players did.

Full Tilt is a story of a couple finding and living for each other, appreciating their time together to make it worthwhile. It’s sad but also made you appreciate a life that isn’t bound by a schedule.

Note:
I have major reservation with book 2. I don’t know how I would feel with them like that. But of course, I still want to read it hmmph! Lol!

ARC provided by the author in exchange for an honest review.

This review is also available on Goodreads.

 

One comment

Leave a Reply

