Review: Author Anonymous by E.K. Blair

Title: Author Anonymous
Author: E.K. Blair
Genre: Memoir
Type: Standalone
POV: First Person – Female
Rating:

Tori Garrison lived a double life. As herself, she was a loving wife to Landon with two adorable daughters. But when she’s Madilyn Kline, a New York Times bestselling author, she was a different person in a different world. A research on a fetish site led her to Alec and that world became dangerous when fantasy was left to rule reality.

I have been intrigued by this book since I first found out about it when I’m not even sure what it is about. And I see speculations whether this is truly a memoir or just a sneaky fiction. Honestly, I don’t care because this book made me have a strong reaction and that’s a mark of a well written story.

For the first time ever, I get to be the character in my own fantasy land.

I usually love characters that fucked up, but with Tori was an exception. Throughout the book, there was not one moment I’ve ever liked/sympathize with her! I understand it could happen to anyone, but her actions were just so selfish and unforgivable and there was one thing she did that sealed her fate for me.

Alec was a breath of fresh air for Tori’s ordinary life. He was a subtle alpha. He knew what to say/do to get things his way. I also had a certain feeling on him but I rather not divulge it :p

No one person is capable of being someone’s everything. Landon fills the security and goodness in me, and Alec fills the need for spontaneity and this newfound desire to explore a different side of my sexuality.

Landon was the one caught in the middle. He was in a difficult situation and I admired his resilience. However, there was a certain point of action that left me frustrated.

β€œNo words will ever be more powerful or more truthful than these beats that bruise me every single day I have you.”

I could put myself in each of their shoes, but still, it is very hard for me not to be judgmental. Maybe because they’re supposed to be real people? I don’t think I would be this emotionally charged if it was a fiction.

Since I don’t have the opportunity to be in close contact with authors via book signings, I appreciate the insider bits about authors/bloggers/readers interactions. I always wonder about the dynamics.

This is black and white. This is right and wrong. This is now a deeply carved line in stone that I’m about to cross.

Author Anonymous is a story of a woman’s journey of making a mistake and recognizing what deemed important in her life. It’s a satisfyingly draining emotional roller coaster into the world of fantasy made reality.

 

This review is also available on Goodreads.

Leave a Reply

