ARC Review: El Diablo by M. Robinson

Title: El Diablo
Author: M. Robinson
Genre: Contemporary Romance
Type: Standalone Book 1 from El Diablo series
POV: First Person – Dual
Publication Date: August 30, 2016

 

I was ruthless.
I was feared.
I had sacrificed. Myself. Her. Everything…

Living in a world where I was worth more dead than alive was a choice. I was a bad man, never claimed to be anything else. I’ve done things I’m not proud of. Seen things that can’t be unseen. I’ve caused pain that I can’t undo.
It was all my choice.
Every decision.
Every order.
Right and wrong never mattered.
Until her.
She was under my protection, until she became my obsession.
But who was going to save her…

From. Me. The devil himself.

Fate brought us together. Destiny destroyed us.

 

Amazon |  B&N  |  iBooks  |  Kobo

 

ARC provided in exchange for an honest review.

Alejandro Martinez grew up as a mob prince. As the son of the feared leader, he was groomed to take over the empire. But crime life quickly took its toll when the people he loved were taken away from him one by one. He earned the name El Diablo from being ruthless and heartless, locking his heart from emotion until a young girl wormed herself into his life.

Lexi learned to be independent since a very young age. With a useless mother, she redirected her love to ballet instead. It became a passion that provided her with an escape from hard life. When an opportunity knocked, she needed help to make her dream come through and it took her to El Diablo’s doorstep, never realizing how it would change her life.

Martinez had a brief appearance in the last book of Good ‘Ol Boys series, Crave Me. His persona as a mob boss was mysterious and intriguing, and made you want to know more about him. Now is his chance to shine and shine he did.

I never apologized for who I was or my actions.

Alejandro exuded power and influence since he was old enough to hold a gun. His father only ever gave tough love and that’s how he lived his life as an adult. I’m aware a lot of people have the love/hate thing on him, but for me, I love him for being him. I guess because villains make my heart swell in pride hahaha!

I like how spunky and fiery Lexi was especially when she was much younger. She wasn’t afraid to go head to head with The Devil. However, I did question some of the things she did – as in she accepted certain scenarios too easily considering how she was supposed to be headstrong.

Even God wasn’t safe from me. I was a ruthless motherfucker who didn’t take no for an answer. No one crossed me and lived to tell the tale. I had no respect or loyalty to anyone but myself.

I’ve always love stories that spanned years because we can see the characters evolution as long as they stayed true to the essence of their personality. I appreciate that the book has a lot of things going on and how things were wrapped up, even though none of the revelations surprised me.

One thing I wish differently is for the story to have more “showing” than “telling”. I am also not a fan of muddled POV – one character constantly interpreting the other characters words/actions/emotions. I rather see it from the other character’s first person perspective.

“Don’t knock on the devil’s door, sweetheart, and expect him not to answer.”

El Diablo is a story of two individuals whose life crossed and took them into a journey of happiness and heartache. The storyline was wrapped up and primed for the next book in the series.

Final Verdict:

This review is also available on Goodreads.

One comment

Leave a Reply

