ARC Review: Everything Stolen by Sophia Scarlet

Title: Everything Stolen
Author: Sophia Scarlet
Genre: Romantic/Erotic Suspense
Type: Standalone
POV: First Person – Dual
Expected Publication: September 19, 2016

 

Four years ago Jeremy Bradford disappeared leaving the woman he loved heartbroken and pregnant with his child.

Two years ago Sylvie Solum married Silas Chambers and vowed to leave any hope of seeing Jeremy again in the past.

Today, Jeremy Bradford woke up from a four year coma.
Resolved to reclaim the woman he loved.
Bent on uncovering the truth about his disappearance.
Determined to make whoever is responsible pay for everything stolen.

…And Bradfords always get what they want.

**This novel is steamy, suspenseful, dirty, and appropriate only for adults.
 

ARC provided by the author in exchange for an honest review.

Jeremy Bradford woke up from a four years coma with a harsh realization that the woman he loved now belong to someone else. No one knew what happened when he went missing. Even his family’s wealth and resources couldn’t help him then. Now he was determined to find out what happened and get back his old life.

Sylvie Solum never wavered in her dedication to find Jeremy. But after such heartbreak, she needed emotional and physical support especially that she was carrying his child. Silas Chambers was there to be her rock. But with Jeremy back in her life, it threatened to mar the once picture perfect family.

The mystery element in the blurb definitely caught my attention. Then I started seeing people saying it bring out all kinds of emotion, I just couldn’t resist it.

I don’t know how to wash away the smell of her, the feel of her in my hands. I don’t know that I would even if I could. Those memories are all I have left.

Considering Jeremy’s situation, it was very easy to feel sorry and fall for him. And despite losing four years of his life, he was rational, patient and understanding.

Sylvie was warring with her heart. She had to choose between her past and her present and what’s best for her future. I wish I know more about her though because she seemed a little one dimensional.

“Part of me knew that you’d destroy me one day. But I couldn’t stop it. I couldn’t fight it. And now I almost wish you’d put me out of my misery.”

Out of all the characters, I think Silas was the one with the most difficult position. Therefore I have a soft spot for him. I also believe his character had the most balance and well developed. I feel like I know everything there is about him.

“Having you like this is torture,” he rasps. “But losing you would be utter obliteration.”

I really like the mystery/suspense elements even though I did find it too easy to figure it out. Some of the characters were hard to love. However I do understand their motivations no matter how despicable their actions might be.

Everything Stolen is a story of people whose life thrown into disarray when the past came back to haunt. It’s a sexy, suspenseful and engaging read.

Final Verdict:

This review is also available on Goodreads.

 

Goodreads   |   Facebook    |   Amazon

Sophia Scarlet is a Maryland native. She lives with her husband, two children, and cat in the woods not far from the Potomac river. When she is not writing or shuttling her children around, you can find her practicing yoga, cooking, or picking seasonal vegetables at the local CSA

Leave a Reply

