ARC Review: Feyness by E.S. Carter

Title: Feyness
Author: E.S. Carter
Genre: Dark Erotic Romance
Type: Standalone
POV: First Person – Dual
Expected Publication: August 23, 2016

 

I don’t see dead people.
I see you.
I see every incarnation of you.
I see the history of your soul.
I can see your aura soaked in the blood of your previous lives.
Most people are inherently good or evil.
Some flit between darkness and light.
Few can change the fabric of their essence; it’s a fight that most are too weak to win.
He was once darkness.
An evil so pure that his very soul is black and yet I am drawn to him like a moth to a flame.
Some days, I feel like I am drowning, the waves of my feelings stealing the very air from my lungs.
Other days, I feel nothing at all.
I’m unsure which is worse; gasping for air or dying from this thirst.
Can you learn to breathe underwater when you find someone worth drowning for?

 

B&N  |  iBooks

 

ARC provided by the author in exchange for an honest review.

Faye Craven was no stranger to the dark. As the daughter of Alec Craven, the king of The Red Order, a debauched secret society, her childhood was marred by the vileness of the society. One fateful day, she was both gifted and cursed with the ability to see beyond people’s facade, to the very depth of their soul. An ability that could help her or break her.

Cole Hunter was Alec’s trusted second in command. As a gift, he became Faye’s new owner free to do what he pleased – breaking her down to the core. And with his brother Luke, Cole had a master plan that had been in works for a long time. However, Faye’s presence in his life could be a complication he didn’t need.

When I read the blurb, I was highly intrigued by the sinister vibe. It was a beacon to my dark soul luring me to its infinite depth. Well, it certainly fed the monster within haha!

My cock aches for her to hate me. And hate me she will.

Cole was ambitious and vindictive. He was feared and revered by the society members because he was void of emotions. Learning about his past, you would understand why he was that way and I actually have a level if respect for him on how he handled it back then.

Faye might seem fragile but years of living with darkness and depravity accorded her with inner strength. She knew when to submit and when to strike for her own advantage.

One should always beware of the wolf in sheep’s clothing.

I really like Luke because he’s the darker brother not only physically but also in personality. Grim, another brother of theirs was even more off balanced but he had a certain dark/twisted charm to make him likeable.

In tenebrosity, there is protection. In lightlessness, there is strength. And in submission, there is power.

The storyline was a little linear for my liking, but I really like how the characters stayed true to themselves no matter what their motivation. They started dark, and stayed dark. There’s nothing worse than a dark character turning all light and fluffy (a.k.a. pussy whipped lol!).

I see you. I see your sins. I see the very fabric of your soul. It’s beautiful and horrifying. It’s painful yet soothing.

Feyness is a story of a couple unwittingly thrown into the darkness and how they cope and survived using each other. It would appeal to people who aren’t afraid to play in the dark :p

Note 1: This book is bloody and graphic.
Note 2: The colored fractals in the teasers have meanings. You’d understand if you read the book 😉

Final Verdict:

This review is also available on Goodreads.

 

Website   |   Goodreads   |   Facebook  |   Twitter |  Instagram

Eli Carter is a mum of three from the U.K.
She is a stay-at-home mum and a part-time advocate for families of children with special needs.
Her life is pretty manic, and she often gets asked, “How do you find the time to write?”
The answer is simple; she never sleeps, but not from lack of trying.
Reading and writing are her therapy, her solace and often the one thing that gets her through the long nights. (That and copious amounts of caffeine and sugar!)
She loves to connect with readers, so please feel free to friend/follow her on Facebook, IG and Twitter or join her reader’s group, E’s Elite ❤

One comment

Leave a Reply

