ARC Review: Six by Ker Dukey

Title: Six
Author: Ker Dukey
Genre: Erotic Thriller
Type: Standalone Book 2 from Men By Numbers series
POV: First Person – Dual
Expected Publication: August 6, 2016

 

I grew up in the foster system and bounced around from place to place. I know what you’re thinking. Bad things happened to me and fucked me up? Don’t feel bad for me. I didn’t know a privileged life, therefore I didn’t miss one. I was what I was and I made it work. I actually had a few good homes in my lifetime, met some good people, but that’s not what my story’s about. It’s not a Romeo and Juliet saga either, even if our stories do revolve around a similar basis. I knew a real love, a rare love, a love between two people that were never supposed to fall in love. Rival gang members are never allowed to fall in love and it cost us everything. The things I learned growing up the way I did is this: Love is deadly and often not real. People come and go and only the rare few stick around when shit gets tough. I learned the hard way what lurks behind false smiles, and that deceitful truths get whispered in sexual moans. I was taught that dark souls are not born but created, and you can avoid them, hide from them or learn and become them.

Revenge sculpted and molded me into the darkest of souls, and with my wrath comes agony and torment more severe than hell itself. I took out six of the men who hurt my woman and I will be coming for the rest. Get in my way and I’ll come for you too.

 

Pre-order at:

Amazon US |   UK |  CA  |  AU

 
 

ARC provided in exchange for an honest review.

Taylor Jake didn’t have a childhood worth remembering. He moved from one foster home to another, never felt like he belonged until he joined a gang during his teen and found love. But that love took everything he got and he avenged it by killing six of the people involved which landed him a 15 years prison sentence. Now a free man, he became Six and vowed to finish his revenge.

Misty was desperate when she walked into Six’s bar. He gave her the job she needed but didn’t want anything to do with her. Deep down, attraction burn from both sides but as he already learned, love could be a dangerous game they can’t afford to lose.

Six touched my heart in book 1 with his past and I have been looking forward to his story. I am so glad this book met my expectations.

I was hollow, lost to what it felt like not to be lonely, and I was okay with that.

I love tortured hero and Six’s history was violent and sad. Guilt followed him around even years after and it scared him from opening up his heart because once he cared, he did so deeply and it could potentially hurt as much.

She’s too delicate for me. She’s like a flower and I’m a weed growing strong around her. I’d strangle her and then everything that makes her bloom will be gone.

Misty was not afraid to take chances. She didn’t let Six’s abrasive nature scared her away and she stood by her believes.

I found the pace to be a little slow in the first 70%. There were a lot of hot scenes to make it up though lol!

Life has a way of always dragging you back to the past and keeping you hostage there.

But once it hit that mark, things started to happen and that’s when the story got really engaging. And I have to say, the person who is going to be in the next book already caught my attention 😀

Six is a story of a man on a personal vendetta while battling the demons from his past. This sexy, thrilling story is worth spending your time with.

Final Verdict:

This review is also available on Goodreads.

Leave a Reply

