ARC Review: Perfect Rage by Nashoda Rose

Title: Perfect Rage
Author: Nashoda Rose
Genre: Contemporary Romance/Suspense
Type: Standalone book 3 of Unyielding series
POV: First Person – Dual
Publication Date: July 26, 2016

 

This is Connor’s story.

Unstable.
Unpredictable.
Consumed by perfect rage.
I was fighting who I’d become and what I’d done.

There was nothing I cared about except her.
She was mine.
But I’d forgotten her—my shutterbug.
And I lost her.

Until now.

I’d do anything to possess her again.
Anything to keep her safe.
Protect her against my biggest opponent.

The monster.

Me.

Amazon  |  B&N

 

ARC provided by the author in exchange for an honest review.

As a member of a military unit, loyalty and honor was ingrained into Connor O’Neill’s psyche. While on a mission in Afghanistan, he met someone that would change the course of his life.

Catalina (Alina) Diaz was a young aspiring photographer. When she got the opportunity to work abroad, she jumped into it, especially with the need to run away from her past. But the past quickly caught up on her and destroyed everything that ever been good in her life and threatened her future happiness.

Connor captured my attention since book 1 and I had been waiting for his story since then. I’m glad he finally got his spotlight.

“I’m fuckin’ dead, damn it. There’s nothing left of me except raw, jagged pieces of a man I hate.”

Having been through years of traumatic situation, Connor had hard time coping with being free. Mentally, he was still a prisoner of his past. He had hard time accepting what he did and was too afraid to ruin his present. He had to constantly battled his inner demons.

My life was never meant to be a happily ever after. I grew up knowing that. I’d accepted it. Until him.

Alina’s past wasn’t less harrowing than Connor. She had her own nightmare to deal with. But unlike him, she wasn’t afraid to take risks and make changes for a better future.

This wasn’t the man I fell in love with. This man was mean and cold and I didn’t like him. But for a second… one second I saw the conflict on his face, like he was fighting something. Like maybe he’d remembered something.

I love the situation that brought them together and how it pulled them apart emotionally while still being there physically in the past. And I love it how in the present the physical and emotional connection was the opposite from the past.

Guilt and self-hate can and will eat away at a man’s soul.

Considering his situation, I was hoping to see a lot of his physical rage and emotional upheaval. They were there but not quite enough for my personal liking. I have a high emotional pain needs (lol!) and due to the book’s slower pace, I wanted more of that.

Perfect Rage is a story of two broken people bound by their unfortunate past while trying to save their volatile future. It was well written with a dash of raw, emotional edge.

Final Verdict:

This review is also available on Goodreads.

 

Website   |   Goodreads   |   Facebook  |   Twitter  |  TSU  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Newsletter

Nashoda Rose is a New York Times and USA Today bestselling author who lives in Toronto with her assortment of pets. She writes contemporary romance with a splash of darkness, or maybe it’s a tidal wave.

When she isn’t writing, she can be found sitting in a field reading with her dogs at her side while her horses graze nearby. She loves interacting with her readers on Facebook and chatting about her addiction—books

Leave a Reply

