ARC Review: Kicked by Celia Aaron

Title: Kicked
Author: Celia Aaron
Genre: Sports Romance
Type: Standalone
POV: First Person – Dual
Expected Publication: July 28, 2016

 

Trent Carrington.
Trent Mr. Perfect-Has-Everyone-Fooled Carrington.
He’s the star quarterback, university scholar, and happens to be the sexiest man I’ve ever seen. He shines at any angle, and especially under the Saturday night stadium lights where I watch him from the sidelines. But I know the real him, the one who broke my heart and pretended I didn’t exist for the past two years.

I’m the third-string kicker, the only woman on the team and nothing better than a mascot. Until I’m not. Until I get my chance to earn a full scholarship and join the team as first-string. The only way I’ll make the cut is to accept help from the one man I swore never to trust again. The problem is, with each stolen glance and lingering touch, I begin to realize that trusting Trent isn’t the problem. It’s that I can’t trust myself when I’m around him.

 

ARC provided in exchange for an honest review.

Cordelia (Cordy) Baxter’s first love was soccer but desperate time called for desperate measure and landed her on the football field instead. Coming from a poor family, she needed the partial football scholarship even just as decorations. But luck was not on her side and she risked losing her scholarship unless she made the team as first string player.

Trent Carrington was the star quarterback of the team. Two years prior he broke Cordy’s heart and had been hated by her ever since. He found a way to possibly get into her good grace, but with her heart guarded, he needed to plan a strong offense in order to win her back.

I’ve read several of the author’s books and expected this one to be light and funny as her previous works, but I was pleasantly surprised by the different tone in this one. Besides the usual sexiness, it was also somewhat sweet and lightly angsty.

I didn’t care if it made me a cave man. I wanted her to feel my possession the same way I felt hers over me.

Trent was quite a dreamy character. He was born into wealth, yet he never flaunt it. He’s definitely not your typical alpha asshole but that didn’t make him any less attractive. Sometimes good guys are as satisfying as the bad boys.

Her quiet nature, the determination that burned in her heart, and her compassion drew me to her.

Cordy was an admirable character. I like how she had lady balls and not afraid to play with the boys (pun partially intended :p). Even though she was guarded and sometimes blinded of her surroundings, she was willing to take chances.

Trent and Cordy had good chemistry. I’ve always love seeing vulnerabilities in characters and both of them had a good amount to balance each other out. It took a while for the sexy part to happened, but once it did, I can assure you’d be fully satisfied lol!

I also like the supporting characters especially her best friend Landon. I wish there was more of him.

How did I manage to go from broken-hearted, to angry, to happy to see him, to wanting to kill him in the space of ten minutes? It was like emotional whiplash, and Trent was the sole cause.

Kicked is football romance about two individuals giving love a chance the second time around. With a tinge of sweetness and angst, paired with a whole lot of sexiness, it would surely appeal to many romance lovers.

Final Verdict:

This review is also available on Goodreads.

 

Website   |   Goodreads   |   Facebook  |   Twitter  |  Instagram   |  Amazon

Celia Aaron is the self-publishing pseudonym of a published romance and erotica author. She loves to write stories with hot heroes and heroines that are twisty and often dark. Thanks for reading.

Sign up for my newsletter at aaronerotica.com to get information on new releases. (I would never spam you or sell your info, just send you book news and goodies sometimes). 😉

Leave a Reply

