ARC Review: Chained By D.H. Sidebottom

Title: Chained
Author: D.H. Sidebottom
Genre: Dark Thriller
Type: Book 2 of 2 from Caged series
POV: First Person Dual
Expected Publication: July 15, 2016

 

I had once thought that when I found the light I had been searching for in that long, dark tunnel that it would finally give me the gift I had been holding on for.
I had scoured the joyless night sky for peace, a peace that only the brightness of the stars could grant.
And I had endeavoured to catch that single magic snowflake in the middle of a howling snowstorm.
I had been looking. Forever.

But little did I know that it WAS the sinister darkness in the tunnel that was the gift. It WAS the black reservoir of the deepest, darkest night that would be the very thing to give my chaotic soul peace. And it WAS the heaving rush of the bleakest blizzard that was filled with magic.

Anderson Cain WAS the darkness.
He WAS the black peace in my soul.
And within the raging pool of his wild green eyes WAS the magic.
The magic that saw me. The real me.
He made sure I saw me too. All of me. He’d told me he would make me accept who I really was.

I was Kloe Grant. And now – now I am the epitome of what he wanted me to be.

But when I finally let go, and I allowed that darkness to find me, neither of us was prepared for who I really was.

Death itself.

This book contains extreme violence, strong adult language and scenes of dark sex, including M/F/M.

 

Pre-order at:

Amazon US |  UK |  CA  |  AU

 

ARC provided by the author in exchange for an honest review.

Anderson Cain had revenge on his mind and he would stop at nothing until his targets got what they deserved. Even showered with love that he had been deprived of couldn’t save him from the path of destruction.

Kloe Grant had a taste of darkness. It seeped into her soul, threatening to consume her. Finding light with a bleak past and a dimmed future could end up being more than either of them could handle.

If book 1 became progressively dark from the middle, book 2 is dark throughout the whole book both in term of physical and psychological aspects.

“You think you’re the only one who is hurting! But you’re not!”

Both Anderson and Khloe went through a lot this time around. They descended to the lowest point in their respective lives and had to find a way to escape the pit of despair.

The author took readers into the world of vengeance full of hatred, heartache and repulsion. The characters were forced to face their demons and decided what price they were willing to pay in the name of revenge.

Rage, necessity, determination, corruption, and the deep sense of survival that lived in all of us did a job sometimes we didn’t want to do.

I don’t want to say much about the book but assume nothing and just enjoy the dark violent ride and hopefully you’ll come out in one piece haha!

Note:
I have a soft spot for Robbie.
Case in point :p (Well among other things lol!)

Both men fucked me hard, they both fucked me with a violence that bordered on sadistic, and they both filled me with so much pain that I couldn’t fight against the pleasure that overwhelmed me.

Final Verdict:

This review is also available on Goodreads.

One comment

Leave a Reply

